Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Steffen Dünner

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:28 am

Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostFri Nov 25, 2022 11:53 am

Hi there,

I just noticed that in the latest update (18.1.1) at least in Linux the color sliders are "broken":

Image

I just added a simple Background node and the values are 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0 but look where the sliders are.
Addtionally I can't move them with the mouse.

EDIT: Tested under both Linux and Windows version
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2269
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostTue Nov 29, 2022 2:24 am

Can you add a comp here that we can take a look at?
Offline

Steffen Dünner

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:28 am

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostTue Nov 29, 2022 10:22 am

Of course,

it's as simple as this:

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Background1 = Background {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            GlobalIn = Input { Value = 1, },
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 477, 20.1364 } },
      }
   },
   ActiveTool = "Background1"
}


And just to make it clear: This happens on both Windows and Linux on two completely different systems.
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 2835
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostTue Nov 29, 2022 5:17 pm

Working fine here.
Attachments
2022-11-29.jpg
2022-11-29.jpg (347.13 KiB) Viewed 666 times
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.1.3 | Fusion Studio 18.1.3

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

Steffen Dünner

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:28 am

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostWed Nov 30, 2022 6:48 am

xunile wrote:Working fine here.


Very weird. Can you also try in Fusion, please? I wonder why it doesn't work on two completely different machines with different OS. All previous versions of Fusion also didn't show this behaviour.
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 2835
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostWed Nov 30, 2022 7:13 pm

I tried in Fusion Studio 18.1.1 as well and they work fine.
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.1.3 | Fusion Studio 18.1.3

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

Steffen Dünner

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:28 am

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostThu Dec 01, 2022 8:50 am

Thanks for trying. This makes it even weirder for me :shock:

The only thing I installed in Fusion on the Linux machine is the latest Reactor (to have easy access to a few scripts, cryptomatte and lens flares). The Windows machine has a fresh install of Fusion. Both show the slider problem.
I have no idea, except that my locale is set to German on both systems (which caused problems a few times during the last 20 years, like Softimage not executing certain scripts or Krita's OCIO failing due to "." and "," being used differently.)

Noone else here having this problem?
Offline

Steffen Dünner

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:28 am

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostThu Dec 01, 2022 12:26 pm

Just gave it a try by starting:
Code: Select all
LC_ALL=C /opt/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion18/Fusion

This was the environment variable used to fix Krita's OCIO problems back then. But it didn't help with my broken sliders.
The only thing that looks like an "error" to me after running Fusion from the command line, trying to move the color sliders and closing it again is this line:
Code: Select all
QCursor: Cannot create bitmap cursor; invalid bitmap(s)

Is that something that rings a bell?

Funny side note: I can successfully move and use the Alpha slider. Only the RGB sliders are dysfunctional.
Offline

Steffen Dünner

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:28 am

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostFri Dec 02, 2022 9:26 am

OK, looks like I've been barking up the wrong tree the whole time. But I found the culprit:

Image

If I switch this off, the color sliders work as expected, but are of course no longer gamma corrected. This is either a regression or a foreshadowing (hopefully) of an improved GUI color management.

Right now, it's a bug.
Offline

Steffen Dünner

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:28 am

Re: Color Sliders broken in 18.1.1

PostThu Dec 22, 2022 7:43 am

Just a quick note: Gamma aware color controls are still broken in 18.1.2

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests