Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Brush tool usage not consistent

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

monokh

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:11 pm
  • Real Name: Mo Nokh

Brush tool usage not consistent

PostTue Feb 04, 2020 11:22 pm

I am trying to mask an object on a clip. I have complicated objects where i need to mask specific parts. The brush tool seems to be the best tool for the job. I was using the multistroke brush which worked great until I found that it's for masking frame by frame and that the max stroke duration is 30 frames. So I switch to the regular brush tool but strokes don't appear on the viewer until you have completed the stroke.

- This makes it really difficult to see and prone to error.
- Every stroke goes into a new object (layer?) making it pretty cluttered.

Am i going wrong somewhere here? Any tips for how to manage this?
Online
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1333
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Brush tool usage not consistent

PostWed Feb 05, 2020 3:19 pm

First, you can overdrive most parameters by typing a number greater than the max slider value into the box.

As for the responsiveness, it sounds like possibly a GPU issue. I get near-instantaneous feedback in stroke mode while I'm painting. As a Paint tool accumulates strokes (dozens to hundreds, depending on your hardware), it does tend to slow down, at which point I make a new one in line with the old and continue painting.

You didn't mention your environment: Operating System, amount of RAM, GPU, and which version of Fusion or Resolve you're using. Any of those factors may play a part in what you're experiencing. For reference, I'm in Windows 10, 32 GB, GTX 1070, Fusion 9.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

monokh

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:11 pm
  • Real Name: Mo Nokh

Re: Brush tool usage not consistent

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 9:15 am

Bryan Ray wrote:First, you can overdrive most parameters by typing a number greater than the max slider value into the box.

As for the responsiveness, it sounds like possibly a GPU issue. I get near-instantaneous feedback in stroke mode while I'm painting. As a Paint tool accumulates strokes (dozens to hundreds, depending on your hardware), it does tend to slow down, at which point I make a new one in line with the old and continue painting.

You didn't mention your environment: Operating System, amount of RAM, GPU, and which version of Fusion or Resolve you're using. Any of those factors may play a part in what you're experiencing. For reference, I'm in Windows 10, 32 GB, GTX 1070, Fusion 9.


I'm using a macbook pro, 16 GB ram, Radeon Pro 560 4 GB graphics card. On the latest version of resolve. I imagine the environment is not a problem.

I actually found that if I put the merge node (instead of mediaout) onto the the monitor and draw, the issue is resolved. With mediaout showing, the first drop of the brush is shown and strokes don't appear until complete. This should be some kind of bug.

Thats a great tip on overriding the value by typing. This should help me get through it. One issue I always encounter here is that once a value is set and you begin painting, the stroke duration can't be updated anymore. The only way i have found is to delete the brush, set the duration first and then begin painting. Would you happen to know the trick here?
Online
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1333
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Brush tool usage not consistent

PostThu Feb 06, 2020 3:12 pm

Aha. It's usually a good idea to view the Paint node itself, or as close to it as is practical, while painting. Otherwise you may have to wait for several other things to calculate before Fusion shows you the completed frame. I'm not sure what the overhead on MediaOut is—if it's doing some kind of preparation for a return to the Edit page, that might account for the slowdown.

The Duration thing does sound like a bug. You should be able to update the Duration at any time. However, if you're in Multistroke mode, you can't change an individual stroke's duration after the fact. But you should be able to set a different Duration for each stroke as you make it. In Stroke mode, you should be able to change the Duration after the fact by adjusting it in the Modifiers panel. The Duration control in the Paint node's control panel will only affect the next stroke you make, not any previous ones.

I don't have Resolve 16 installed to be able to check its behavior. In Resolve 15 on Windows, though, and in Fusion standalone, it works as I described.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bryan Ray, steve oakley and 13 guests