Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

What is a Text type "Frame"

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

danijelkurincic

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 4:16 pm
  • Real Name: Danijel Kurincic

What is a Text type "Frame"

PostTue May 19, 2020 4:22 pm

Hi.
Banging my head against Fusions confusing Text editing interface. Trying to make a block of text, which would "Write animate" but through several lines. Basic stuff, can't find any videos nor documentation nothing no this.
In the "Layout" Tab of the Text+ node there is a "Type" option and there is a "Frame" choice. Who knows what this does?

Please point me into the right direction how do this! Thanks.
Online

xunile

  • Posts: 1315
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostTue May 19, 2020 4:57 pm

You can create multiple lines of text in a Text+ node, then use the Write On control to animate the letters on. This will do it letter by letter though. If you want it to be more gradual you can try using a MaskPaint mask connected to the Text+ node and use either paint strokes or PolyLineStrokes to animate the text on or off.
Attachments
2020-05-19 (11).png
2020-05-19 (11).png (503.81 KiB) Viewed 202 times
2020-05-19 (12).png
2020-05-19 (12).png (511.7 KiB) Viewed 202 times
2020-05-19 (13).png
2020-05-19 (13).png (556.37 KiB) Viewed 202 times
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.2
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostTue May 19, 2020 8:42 pm

I'm about 90% sure that the Frame mode is supposed to work the way you think, but it's been broken in every version of Fusion I've used. I think there's a Fuse somewhere that lets you type into a frame. I don't recall off the top of my head where to find it, though. Probably somewhere at steakunderwater.com.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

danijelkurincic

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 4:16 pm
  • Real Name: Danijel Kurincic

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostTue May 19, 2020 10:51 pm

Thabk you for replies. You have confirmed both my suspicions.
But ... I mean, not having a text box functionality in such a program seems to me a pretty bad decision.
Def. I am very new to this, but it really doesn't encourage me to switch from Adobe... :(
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostWed May 20, 2020 2:26 pm

Well, like I said, I'm reasonably sure it's a bug, not a decision. As to why it hasn't been fixed through at least three major versions, I couldn't say.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Online

xunile

  • Posts: 1315
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostWed May 20, 2020 4:01 pm

It isn't a bug, it works in Fusion 9 and Resolve 16 Fusion. The Frame is used as boundaries for the H Anchor and V Anchor settings. In the first picture below I have the Frame set to almost the width and height of the clip. I have V Anchor set to top, so the text is at the top even with the Frame box. In the second picture, I have left the V Anchor setting the same and changed the height of the Frame, so the text stayed aligned with the top of the Frame and moved towards the center of the viewer. The same works with the H Anchor.
Attachments
2020-05-20.png
2020-05-20.png (524.88 KiB) Viewed 159 times
2020-05-20 (1).png
2020-05-20 (1).png (560.22 KiB) Viewed 159 times
2020-05-20 (2).png
2020-05-20 (2).png (516.08 KiB) Viewed 159 times
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.2
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostWed May 20, 2020 4:59 pm

Ooooh! That is a not-very-intuitive design, I must say.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Online

xunile

  • Posts: 1315
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostWed May 20, 2020 5:16 pm

Bryan Ray wrote:Ooooh! That is a not-very-intuitive design, I must say.


I totally agree. I have seen multiple posts of people confused about the H Anchor and V Anchor controls and until today I didn't know that they were connected to the Frame Layout Type. I just never bothered to use any of them.
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.2
Offline

cadeg_rsh

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:46 pm
  • Real Name: Roman Shigaev

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostFri May 29, 2020 6:19 am

Sorry, but anybody knows how to make Text Frame work as expected (like in Illustrator or something like that)?
Or how I can make Text Frame Tool?
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostFri May 29, 2020 6:59 pm

You could give this one a try:

https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... f=6&t=1098

I think it's had some updates within the last few weeks, actually, but I don't think it's in Reactor.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

cadeg_rsh

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:46 pm
  • Real Name: Roman Shigaev

Re: What is a Text type "Frame"

PostSat May 30, 2020 7:04 pm

Bryan Ray wrote:You could give this one a try:

https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... f=6&t=1098

I think it's had some updates within the last few weeks, actually, but I don't think it's in Reactor.


It's a miracle!!! Thank you!

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests