Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion Clip Length

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MikeZeen

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:43 pm
  • Real Name: Mike Ponton

Fusion Clip Length

PostWed May 20, 2020 4:52 pm

Hello,

as I am trying to get my foot into the industry as a freelancer, I tried to find an alternative to the pricy softwares out there on the market. For Video Editing I now tried Resolve for quite some time and it seems to really be what I need. I only have one small problem for which I cant seem to find a solution.

Is it possivle to change the length of Fusion Clips after creating them?

I mean I could just create a new Clip with the correct length, sure, but I did quite a big Node Network which I dont want to rebuild a second time, only to fit my animations. So, is that functionality built in Resolve and I simply cant find it or is it not possible?

Best Regards,
Mike
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 1315
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Fusion Clip Length

PostWed May 20, 2020 5:29 pm

You can use the Keyframe Editor and Spline Editor in the Fusion tab to retime animation, and you can also try the KeyframeStretcher node, but that seems to be a little buggy. In the Spline Editor, you can use the Time Stretch button to retime the animation equally. In the pictures below, I created a text+ keyframe animation, then doubled the length of the Adjustment Clip in the Edit tab. I then use the Spline Editor and the Time Stretch function to retime the animation by selecting all of the points, clicking the Time Stretch button, then dragging the line to the right until the end of the new comp length.
Attachments
2020-05-20 (10).png
2020-05-20 (10).png (512.71 KiB) Viewed 137 times
2020-05-20 (11).png
2020-05-20 (11).png (508.93 KiB) Viewed 137 times
2020-05-20 (12).png
2020-05-20 (12).png (513.61 KiB) Viewed 137 times
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.2
Offline

MikeZeen

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:43 pm
  • Real Name: Mike Ponton

Re: Fusion Clip Length

PostWed May 20, 2020 5:35 pm

Hello,

Thanks for your response but I think I didnt quite find the right words when asking my question.
The timing for my Animations are right actually. The problem that I have is that my timeline is not long enough to fit everything in. I have a 5 Seconds Timeline, where I would need a 12 seconds timeline to fit all my animation.

In other words:
I have a build up animation with the text "created by MikeZeen". The Length of my timeline only allows me to fit the build up for "created", so that I would need to make the timeline longer to fit the rest of the animation.

I hope this clarifies my problem a bit better.

Best Regards,
Mike
Offline
User avatar

Saad Shah

  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:36 pm
  • Real Name: Saad Shah

Re: Fusion Clip Length

PostWed May 20, 2020 10:50 pm

You can grab the fusion clip on your timeline and just extend it to 12 seconds long. The animation should play through till the end of the clip. You can even make the clip longer if you want; the default clip length setting is in the preferences.
Youtube Channel: Gargoyles At Work
Offline

MikeZeen

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:43 pm
  • Real Name: Mike Ponton

Re: Fusion Clip Length

PostWed May 20, 2020 11:06 pm

Hello,

Thanks for your reply.
Sadly this doesnt quite work for me.
I imported an SVG where I cant seem to find a way to set the "Global In/Out" Value.
Because of that, the SVG disappears after the frame of the initial length is attended.
For a normal Image I could change the Global Out Value and the Image shows until the End of the new time length. Is there a way to set this Global Out Value for an SVG?

Best Regards,
Mike
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 1315
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Fusion Clip Length

PostThu May 21, 2020 1:47 pm

Can you post a screenshot of your Fusion tab with the SVG selected and the Keyframes Editor open like in the screenshot below? Also, how did you create your Fusion Clip? Did you right-click one clip on the Edit tab and choose "New Fusion Clip"? Did you select multiple clips and create it? Did you just right-click a clip and choose Open In Fusion?
Attachments
2020-05-21.png
2020-05-21.png (509.26 KiB) Viewed 67 times
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.2

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests