Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Using a mask and UltraKeyer together

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Avanbeek

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 1:15 am
  • Real Name: Andrew Van Beek

Using a mask and UltraKeyer together

PostThu May 21, 2020 1:26 am

Hi All,

I'm trying to use a green screen what is not as wide as my back ground.

My assumption is that I can mask out the part of my back ground that is not green and use UltraKeyer to take care of the green.

For some reason, I can't seem to use both together and just get a polygon mask with black in it instead of the intended back ground image.

Does any one know of a good tutorial for this. It's the only non-intuitive I have found in Davinci so far.
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 1314
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Using a mask and UltraKeyer together

PostThu May 21, 2020 1:38 pm

You can connect your masks to the UltraKeyer Garbage Matte input. Here is another post about the subject that might help.

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=113924#p627710
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.2
Offline

Avanbeek

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 1:15 am
  • Real Name: Andrew Van Beek

Re: Using a mask and UltraKeyer together

PostFri May 22, 2020 1:17 pm

Thank you for your response. It might be part of the input but I still can't make it work.
In the following image you can see how I start. There is a video with a small green screen and a lot of junk around me. Below the video is a back ground.
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__8_48_AM.jpg
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__8_48_AM.jpg (483.7 KiB) Viewed 85 times


In fusion, you can see that I have added a polygon to exclude the area outside of the green screen
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__8_50_AM.jpg
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__8_50_AM.jpg (393.44 KiB) Viewed 85 times


This is how is looks and everything seem to be fine so far:
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__8_51_AM.jpg
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__8_51_AM.jpg (517.45 KiB) Viewed 85 times
Online
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Using a mask and UltraKeyer together

PostFri May 22, 2020 3:01 pm

If you're going to ask for advice, you should follow it once it's given.

The keyer will treat all of those (0,0,0) pixels as solid, undoing the pre-masking. This is the Way:

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (142 KiB) Viewed 82 times
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Avanbeek

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 1:15 am
  • Real Name: Andrew Van Beek

Re: Using a mask and UltraKeyer together

PostFri May 22, 2020 4:09 pm

Thank Bryan,

I wasn't able to post more than 3 attachments so I couldn't finish what was going on.

Here is where things get weird.

When I have everything set up as you and the original commenter said, it looks like this:
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__9_03_AM.jpg
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__9_03_AM.jpg (398.24 KiB) Viewed 68 times


It looks like this in Edit:
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__9_04_AM.jpg
Fullscreen_2020-05-22__9_04_AM.jpg (512.78 KiB) Viewed 68 times


What setting did I miss? I can't see your settings in the screen grab because the right side is cut off.

Thanks
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 1314
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Using a mask and UltraKeyer together

PostFri May 22, 2020 5:54 pm

In both my screenshot and Bryan's screenshot, we have the mask connected to the Gray GarbageMatte input on the UltraKeyer, you have it connected to the Blue Effect Mask input. Try connecting the mask to the gray GarbageMatte connector.
Attachments
2020-05-17 (1).png
2020-05-17 (1).png (525.89 KiB) Viewed 63 times
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.2
Offline

Avanbeek

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 1:15 am
  • Real Name: Andrew Van Beek

Re: Using a mask and UltraKeyer together

PostFri May 22, 2020 7:08 pm

Jesus that was painful. The problem was that I didn't understand the different inputs so I mistook a mention of the GarbageMatte for the Tools in the UltraKeyer.

The good news is that it works so thank you so much for the guidance and patience. Time to spend a lot more time on Fusion...

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests