Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Finding out why nodes aren't producing output

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

byte12

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:12 pm
  • Real Name: Pieter De Decker

Finding out why nodes aren't producing output

PostSat Jun 27, 2020 10:18 am

A Merge node and everything that depends on its output aren't producing output when I send those nodes to one of the two viewer panels:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FaC4oA ... 8stge/view

Oddly enough making a new Merge node with the exact same settings does produce output on the viewer, but causes nodes depending on it to be highlighted in red:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1bZfbcc ... OKc2R/view

How do I diagnose what's happening and how can I fix it?
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 1469
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Finding out why nodes aren't producing output

PostSat Jun 27, 2020 1:29 pm

Your Merge3 node has nothing connected to its Background input, that is why you aren't seeing anything. In your example, you can remove it and directly connect the Other Media node to the Background input of Merge4. If you want the Other Media to be in the foreground, you might have to swap inputs on Merge4, you can do this by selecting the node and hitting Ctrl+T.
Attachments
2020-06-27.png
2020-06-27.png (315.45 KiB) Viewed 81 times
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.2.3
Offline

byte12

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:12 pm
  • Real Name: Pieter De Decker

Re: Finding out why nodes aren't producing output

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 7:15 am

D'oh, of course... you're totally right. This was a leftover from a different part of a node tree that I cut out earlier and I didn't realize keeping the Merge node around was kinda silly. Thanks Eric!

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests