Page 1 of 1

OpenFX overlay in fusion

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 8:32 pm
by amaurydoare
Hello,
I started really using resolve and fusion, and I had plugins that I was using in another software, they are working in fusion, but it seems there's no way to get the overlay? It works in the edit page of resolve, so it really bothers me...
And i don't want to do it in the edit page, because the effect in question for lightsabers, and involves a lot of rotoscoping, so I want to take advantage of fusion for masking, but it also has to be on its own layer...
I'm also trying to do the effect from scratch in fusion, but I can't really control motion blur the way I would like, and I can't really get rounded corners unless I adjust the tangents every time, which is a lot of the work...

So, can someone confirm it is not possible to get the open fx overlay in fusion?
Ideas on rounded corners? I'm using a polyline mask, have also considered using the paint tool, and even luma key but whenever there is motion blur it's not an option...

Thank you for your input

Re: OpenFX overlay in fusion

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:34 am
by xunile
You can get rounded corners with the Rectangle mask using the Corner Radius slider.

Re: OpenFX overlay in fusion

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:19 am
by amaurydoare
Thank you for your reply.
Yes, I've found that, unfortunately I need to deform it to roto the blade so I would need four points that I can move independently. Unless I've missed something, I cannot do that with a rectangle. Maybe I could do that with a warp modifier or something? I haven't tried it yet, but I have a feeling this would not be as simple as a poly mask.

Re: OpenFX overlay in fusion

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:14 am
by Sam Steti
Hey,

Overlays are not the standard way Fusion anyway, you're supposed to see any options in the parameters panel. However, I've seen overlays (like a Primatte keyer OFX for ex.) yet, so It depends on the way it has been made I guess.
This said, I don't know what funky stuff you do with lightsabers but I hope (for your peace of mind) roto doesn't apply to sabers, it would be a neverending job :)

Re: OpenFX overlay in fusion

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:54 pm
by amaurydoare
Hello,
Yes I do realize that, but for some things you need visual control. I am afraid I have to place the points for every single frame...
I am trying to control the points with points from a polymask by publishing the points and linking controls, but I haven't been able to get that to work (I'll probably do a topic for that, otherwise this one will be a mess).

So, should I give up on the overlay? No way to get that in fusion?

Re: OpenFX overlay in fusion

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:16 pm
by Sander de Regt
Just to see if I understand you right: the plugins are working inside of standalone Fusion, but without showing their own GUI? What plugins are you referring to and can you show us some screenshots of them working without actually working? It's prettt intriguing.

Re: OpenFX overlay in fusion

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:32 pm
by xunile
In the screenshots below, I am using the same OpenFX from Ignite called Lightsword(2-Points). On the Edit page, you get an overlay that allows you to adjust the points by clicking and dragging. If you add it in the Fusion page, you can only manipulate the endpoints with the Inspector. I don't know if this is the plugin he is referring to, but I think it shows the issue.

Re: OpenFX overlay in fusion

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:00 pm
by amaurydoare
Yes, that is the one.
And sander, it is not actually "standalone" fusion, I'm using resolve. I don't know if it makes a difference.

So what are my alternatives for "piloting" the points...
I've tried to link them to the points in a polyline, but... they don't seem to follow the animation. Whenever I move a point from the polyline, they follow, but then, they don't follow the keyframes...