Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

64Gb RAM?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

AleksK

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 12:24 pm
  • Real Name: Aleksejs KREICBERGS

64Gb RAM?

PostWed Mar 17, 2021 5:20 pm

Hi Blackmagic community
Is the difference between 32Gb RAM and 64 Gb RAM considerable? (for Fusion and Davinci)
Does that change a lot for video editing?
I have 32Gb and in Fusion, it's sometimes not very simple. If I add 32Gb - will it change a lot?
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2635
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: 64Gb RAM?

PostWed Mar 17, 2021 5:40 pm

Yes, you'll be able to store more than double the amount of frames for realtime playback.

More importantly, if you can cache a frame that takes 10s to render and recall it in 2ms, you'll essentially increase your render speed by 5000x.

RAM is the single most effective way to make your comps faster. I can't think of any other upgrade that makes your comps 5000x faster.
Last edited by Chad Capeland on Wed Mar 17, 2021 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

UserNoah

  • Posts: 250
  • Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 3:32 pm
  • Location: Berlin
  • Real Name: Noah Hähnel

Re: 64Gb RAM?

PostWed Mar 17, 2021 6:19 pm

Big yes from me too. I currently have 64GB, have used Fusion with 32 and 48GB as well. The difference RAM makes is big, especially if you have projects that require higher resolutions. I'll probably upgrade to 128GB as soon as prices in tech normalize again.
Offline

Kel Philm

  • Posts: 470
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:21 am

Re: 64Gb RAM?

PostWed Mar 17, 2021 8:32 pm

How often do you fill up your cache in Fusion? As far as video editing I wouldn't think it would make much difference.
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2635
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: 64Gb RAM?

PostWed Mar 17, 2021 9:28 pm

Kel Philm wrote:How often do you fill up your cache in Fusion? As far as video editing I wouldn't think it would make much difference.


Quick back of the napkin math...

Comp has 100 tools that output images, images are 70MB each, so that's 7GB per frame. At 60fps, that's 424GB/s. If I want more than a single second cached for all my tools, I'd need 512GB of RAM.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

AleksK

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 12:24 pm
  • Real Name: Aleksejs KREICBERGS

Re: 64Gb RAM?

PostThu Mar 18, 2021 8:08 am

Thanks for your replies, guys.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 13 guests