Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

frame 0: Bad file descriptor

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Claude Lec

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:27 pm
  • Location: Stuttgart/Germany

frame 0: Bad file descriptor

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 1:19 pm

Hi
By render a fusion clip with an image and text, I got a warning that the render couldn't be completed because of "frame 0: Bad file descriptor". I use a normal jpeg image. Render H.264 .mov
What does that mean? What did I did wrong.
Thanks
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900K 8*3,6GHz 32 Go Ram - RTX 2080 TI -DaVinci Resolve STUDIO 16.2 - Fusion studio 16 - Windows 10 Pro
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1829
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: frame 0: Bad file descriptor

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 4:02 pm

Could be it's a non-standard image resolution. Fusion doesn't seem to like H.264 that isn't in a typical video size. I don't have time to run down the allowed sizes, but if you Resize or Crop to a typical video format, it should work. Ran into this one when I was handed a video at 1921x1081. Had to run it through AE to trim off the extra row and column before Fusion would display it.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Claude Lec

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:27 pm
  • Location: Stuttgart/Germany

Re: frame 0: Bad file descriptor

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 4:21 pm

Yes that was the problem.
It is a map.
I scan it to 1200 pixels/inche
The image size was

Image size (Pixels) 5783 x 3299 Pixels
Image size (cm) 12,24 x 6,98 cm

I try with other image and it did work so I resize the image to

Image size (Pixels) 1920 x 1080 Pixels
Image size (cm) 4,06 x 2,29 cm

and I have no problem.
I though it wouldn't make any difference. Well I have a lot of things I still don't understand. I though because you can make 4k or even 8k the number of pixels per inch didn't matter. But it does.

It goes unfortunetly above my knowledge.
Thank you for your reply
Claude
Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900K 8*3,6GHz 32 Go Ram - RTX 2080 TI -DaVinci Resolve STUDIO 16.2 - Fusion studio 16 - Windows 10 Pro
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1829
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: frame 0: Bad file descriptor

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 9:08 pm

Pixels per inch don't matter except when moving to or from paper (scanning or printing). Actual pixel dimensions do matter.

Some software doesn't care about adhering to the specification and won't cause problems. Even Fusion didn't in earlier versions, but when Quicktime got deprecated they had to rebuild the decoder. It's a lot more strict than the old Apple-published module was.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2635
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: frame 0: Bad file descriptor

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 10:07 pm

A lot of codecs also require the raster to be made of whole macroblocks. So if your codec uses 4x4 macroblocks, for example, you might need to make sure that the X and Y resolution is a multiple of 4.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yuri V. Nemets and 9 guests