Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

2D Character Animation

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

GlueFactoryBJJ

2D Character Animation

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 6:01 am

I've been using DaVinci Resolve Studio since 2018, mostly for personal/family videos, you know, video editing, etc, with a few commercial/trade jobs thrown in. Lately I've been wanting to branch out a bit to do some animation to incorporate into my videos to add a little bit of extra "oomph" to my skill set and give some new options for video.

I've checked out some commercial (vector) animation products, and they are pretty good, but since this is mostly for me, my budget is more limited. And, since many of them require subscriptions (the reason I initially started to look to dump Adobe after over 10 years), I thought of trying to utilize what I already had... i.e. Fusion in DaVinci Resolve.

My questions are:

1. Can Fusion realistically do 2D character animation?
2. If Fusion can't really do 2D character animation, can Fusion do 3D animation without the learning curve of, say, Blender?
3. If Fusion CAN do 2D character animation, where can I find resources that might help me get started using Fusion for 2D animation?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Scott

PS. From what I've seen, it looks like a game development product like Spine ($69 for the base product) would be great for animating characters in Fusion... IF Fusion can read and understand the Spine output files.
Hardware: ASUS Crosshair VIII, AMD 3950X, Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti, 64GB RAM, 2TB m.2 SSD, 2TB (4x500GB) SSDs, 36TB NAS
Software: Win10 Pro, DR Studio 17.3, Reaper, Affinity Photo & Designer, Skylum Luminar/Aurora HDR, OBS
Adobe free since 2018!

Sander de Regt

Re: 2D Character Animation

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 9:42 am

The short answer to basically all your questions is: no.