Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion page perform issue and possible work around?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

zixzax

Fusion page perform issue and possible work around?

PostWed Sep 08, 2021 9:27 am

I’m fairly new to fusion. These might be some very rudimentary problems, but I did some research forehand but didn’t get a definitive answer.
I’ve recently been working on a short commercial project with a relatively small time window. The director finished the cut with the original ARRIRAW file in DR and did some basic chroma key in fusion page, so naturally I feel it’s a good idea to finish keying/composite/color in DR all together,

I did the key in fusion page, link foreground and background to separate media out in order to correct them in color page, then I’ll composite them in color page with layer mixer node.
I’ve encountered a lot of problems. I’ll list them below. Which makes me wonder if it is a proper workflow? Or should I do my color correction inside fusion/external app then export with prores4444 etc. then do my grading on the whole image. I feel it’s really tedious and didn’t utilize the color page and the raw file. Plus, it’s hard to adjust the composite this way.

My first problem is Fusion page is extremely slow, simply keying(with around 10 nodes) and composite a background makes the whole software painfully slow.
I have 32g ram and a simple clip take all of them. Even after I turn off DR I still need to terminate the residual software left in order to purge my memory, which looks like a memory leak to me.
I don’t expect a smooth playback, but sometimes even a single frame can’t go through.
Some people say that Fusion studio will perform much better. Here comes another problem. How do I transfer what I’ve done in fusion page into standalone fusion? The only workaround I find is manually copy/paste node clip by clip. Plus, the fusion studio doesn't seem to recognize ARRIRAW.