Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

How do I make a video/image appear behind another?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Dorkus

How do I make a video/image appear behind another?

PostWed Jan 25, 2023 12:58 pm

Hi. Im still learning Fusion and Im struggling to recreate a relatively basic effect. I want to make an image or video to slide out from behind an object. for example, if I had a video of a game character standing still, and i wanted to make a video come out from behind their back, how would I do this? I've already tried doing research into this before coming to the forum, but I just can't seem to find the right answer. All of the videos and past forum posts are all about doing this effect with text, but I am unable to recreate it with any media. And I also cant seem to find any controls for media as well, id like to scale down the media as well.
Hunter Bradford

Richard Cooper

Re: How do I make a video/image appear behind another?

PostThu Jan 26, 2023 1:31 am

Seems like you'd want to mask the foreground element out, then have that separate from the background you just separated it from, a copy if you'd like. Then place the video/image between the two. So your timeline would look like this. Background on the lowest level, then the video/image, then the foreground masked out element. You could also mask the video/image you want between as needed. This could also be done in fusion, but the above method would be simple on the timeline and magic mask is available on both.

xunile

Re: How do I make a video/image appear behind another?

PostThu Jan 26, 2023 4:42 pm