Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Moving Camera, Object: How to add object to 3D environment?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

bhuether

Moving Camera, Object: How to add object to 3D environment?

PostWed Feb 28, 2024 6:19 am

Hi,

I am new to VFX and I know I have entered a very complex world. I have spent past week endlessly trying to do a test case to confirm I can film a moving subject with a moving camera, rotobrush out the background, then insert the subject in a 3D environment such as Unreal Engine. Ultimately I then want to film myself playing guitar and add to 3D environments.

As I understand this requires solving the camera movement, exporting that solve appropriately (scale, axes, origin, ground plane). ALso involves rotobrushing out the background then using resulting image on a projection plate attached to the camera so that camera is always looking at the subject as during the actual shot.

I am getting close to a decent result but have a ways to go, as my result has the subject sliding too much in the 3D environment.

Ok, so here is the shot I am using for an experiment:

Here is what tracked camera looks like in Blender:

Now if I import this in Unreal Engine as FBX I get following result after attaching my image sequence to a projected image plate:

It is as if the camera FOV/perspective isn't quite right in the solve, or is this a different problem being observed?

Notice how at certain moments the cat is sliding across the ground plane. And compared to original video, here the last few frames the cat is disappearing below ground plane (I know this isn't 3D cat - what is happening is image plate is angled such that cat is getting cropped off at end).