Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

How to Work with Audio?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Dennis Beswick

How to Work with Audio?

PostTue Nov 11, 2014 7:36 pm

Hello, I'm new here and new to compositing. I am a traditional visual artist who in the past few years got very serious in 3D art and in the process of learning 2D animation. I have some limited experience in using composite software with Sony Vegas, Premier Pro and a little bit of Combustion.

My first instinct is to get all my audio files together. I like to have an audio track along with the video so I can edit and time things together. Can this kind of workflow be done with Fusion? So far I managed to figure out how to get a sound file in by right-clicking the audio mute toggle on the timeline but that's as far as I got. Any help is appreciated.

Dennis Beswick

Re: How to Work with Audio?

PostSun Nov 16, 2014 9:32 pm

Anyone? I would really like to know where audio fits in this process. What's the significance of the audio button?

Rakesh Malik

PostSun Nov 16, 2014 9:41 pm

Fusion isn't editing software, it's compositing software. I'm not sure that it's the easiest tool for doing the entire assembly in.
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
Asus Flow X13, Octacore Zen3/32GB + XG Mobile nVidia RTX 3080/16GB
Apple M1 Mini/16GB

Dennis Beswick

PostSun Nov 16, 2014 10:04 pm

Thanks for your reply. I figured audio has a limited role to play in Fusion but was just wondering what that button is used for. I knew AE was not a place for audio so found it curious here. I ask as a noob to composite software the best flow to work with audio. How do you deal with the timing of effects and action that's in the footage if you want the effects to be in synch with a musical mood or beat for example?

Win Conway

PostSun Nov 16, 2014 11:07 pm