Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 853
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Aug 27, 2015 5:29 pm

Hello everyone:

To consolidate everyone's feedback on the Fusion 8 BETA, we are going to use this subforum for any feedback and bug reports. We'll be moving threads from posts in the parent forum into here to keep everything consolidated.

Thanks for sharing feedback and trying it out. We look forward to hearing from you!
Joshua Helling

Director of World Wide Support
Blackmagic Design Inc.
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2488
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Aug 27, 2015 6:09 pm

Thank you! This will make it easier for both beta testers and production users!
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 190
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Aug 27, 2015 6:38 pm

Awesome! I was just posting in another forum how BDM will become as good at software as they are at hardware. Now make this true, so I don't look stupid. Well, more stupid. :D
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1812
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Aug 27, 2015 7:27 pm

Hi Joshua,

this is a great move. Now to make it easier for the users to help you find bugs, it would be great if you guys could start including changelogs with every release, so we know what to look out for.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Mick McManus

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 5:54 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Aug 27, 2015 10:01 pm

Using Fusion 8 Beta on Mac.
Can't find Duplicate tool (2d). Can I assume this is not available?

THANK YOU JUNE YU.
Last edited by Mick McManus on Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

june yu

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:25 am

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 1:06 am

Mick McManus wrote:Using Fusion 8 Beta on Mac.
Can't find Duplicate tool (2d). Can I assume this is not available?



Find the fuse folder by Developer folder, Put in the right place.

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\Fusion 8\Fuses

:D
Chinese Forum : https://www.cgsfusion.com
Optical Flares for Fusion:https://gumroad.com/l/OpticalFlares
Fractal Noise for Fusion: https://gumroad.com/l/FractalNoise
Offline

Stefan Kirste

  • Posts: 135
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:45 am

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 2:54 pm

while your are working on the GUI, u may can fix the bad think, that the points on the splines in the splineview disapaer, if 2 tools have the same value.
And with the new GUI, i didnt see a different, "Sel" is active or not .
Shown in the attached picture.
Furthermore the linespace between controls in the tool tab is to big.
Attachments
SplineView.JPG
SplineView.JPG (34.43 KiB) Viewed 12002 times
Offline

David Mathis

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Aug 31, 2015 12:36 am

Thank you Joshua! Kudos to the entire team for your hard work. :)
Offline
User avatar

Stefan Ihringer

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:40 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Aug 31, 2015 7:29 am

I've gotta say, despite the issues I've brought up here and there, having the OSX version is great. It seemed stable and as fast as when I used version 7 with boot camp. And being able to render directly to prores instead of dpx files that get converted by ffmpeg has already saved me so much hassle. Also, not having to dual-boot or launch Parallels is awesome.
blog and Fusion stuff: http://comp-fu.com/2012/06/fusion-script-macro-collection/
Offline
User avatar

Mattias Lindberg

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 7:23 pm
  • Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Aug 31, 2015 11:21 am

Mick McManus wrote:Using Fusion 8 Beta on Mac.
Can't find Duplicate tool (2d). Can I assume this is not available?


On Mac, go to /Applications/Blackmagic Fusion 8/Fusion.app and RMB, "Show Package Contents".
Inside goto /Contents/MacOS/Developer/Scripts/Misc/

Copy the whole Misc folder into /Contents/MacOS/Fuses/

Restart Fusion 8. Now you have it. :-)
DaVinci Resolve 15 Studio
Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti

Motion Graphic Designer
http://fakepilot.com
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 596
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Sep 02, 2015 6:14 pm

Could you please add tiny little feature to go Fusion workspace full screen as seen in Resolve?
__
--[[BMD's cameras and Resolve all-post workflow evangelist
My old stuff: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Debug: ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 32 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.]]--
Offline
User avatar

Trev Burgess

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:16 am
  • Location: Cardiff, UK

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSat Sep 05, 2015 9:16 am

Not sure if i am alone here, but left & right arrow key single frame advance doesnt work. I have to use the double arrow icon in the timeline set to 1 frame.
If in doubt... do nothing.
Offline
User avatar

Stefan Ihringer

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:40 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSat Sep 05, 2015 6:55 pm

Fusion never had left/right arrow for frame steppig. It's the two keys next to "backspace".

That being said, i have always wished that Fusion would be able to use cursors for steppig and pos1/end for first of range / last of range. Pos1 when already at the in point of the render range would go to the global in and vice-versa.
blog and Fusion stuff: http://comp-fu.com/2012/06/fusion-script-macro-collection/
Offline

Neil Martin

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 9:45 am

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Sep 07, 2015 9:32 am

Hi Folks,

I am having issues after launching Fusion 8 Beta.

I have to launch two instances of Fusion for it to work. When I launch the first instance, nothing works, File>Open does nothing, dragging a tool from the top to the flow does nothing. I then launch a second version of Fusion 8 and it works fine.

Anyone else had this problem?

I'm on Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit, 16GB Ram, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz

Cheers,

Neil
Offline

Trevor Asquerthian

  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSat Sep 12, 2015 3:38 pm

Repeatable crash:

Fresh Comp

Add Mask Paint (or Paint) node

Draw a few circles (or anything really, although rectangles often don't seem to appear)

Switch to Timeline view

Expand the Mask Paint container

Click on a circle object - HARD CRASH

See https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/45875183/Fusion%20Crash.mov

On Retina MacBookPro 16GB Ram OSX 10.9.5 - so maybe underpowered for Fusion?
HP Z840 Dual Intel Xeon E5-2637
32GB RAM (4x8GB Sticks)
Nvidia Quadro M5000 8GB - Driver 27.21.14.5206
Storage & Cache:
Local Raid 0 (3 drive) - 190w 270r
or
Areca 8050T2 via TB2 - Raid 3 - 630w 740r
Offline
User avatar

Stefan Ihringer

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:40 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSat Sep 12, 2015 6:04 pm

Trevor Asquerthian wrote:Repeatable crash:

Fresh Comp

Add Mask Paint (or Paint) node

Draw a few circles (or anything really, although rectangles often don't seem to appear)

Switch to Timeline view

Expand the Mask Paint container

Click on a circle object - HARD CRASH

See https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/45875183/Fusion%20Crash.mov

On Retina MacBookPro 16GB Ram OSX 10.9.5 - so maybe underpowered for Fusion?


I've just tried it but it doesn't happen to me. It's an even older MacBook (late 2012) with 8 gigs running 10.9.5
blog and Fusion stuff: http://comp-fu.com/2012/06/fusion-script-macro-collection/
Offline
User avatar

Stefan Ihringer

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:40 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSat Sep 12, 2015 6:06 pm

The preferences in beta 2 look more readable now due to the skin changes.

But the gamma input should probably be aligned to the right column, shouldn't it?
Attachments
prefs.png
prefs.png (30.23 KiB) Viewed 11085 times
blog and Fusion stuff: http://comp-fu.com/2012/06/fusion-script-macro-collection/
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2488
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSat Sep 12, 2015 7:49 pm

Speaking of alignments in the new skin, SimpleExpressions are now centered, not left justified. It's interesting, but I don't really like it. I'd rather have left or right justified.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 596
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSun Sep 13, 2015 5:46 pm

in polygon node by clicking on one of the points and going to polygon: polylines->publish->publish to it shows me wheird stuff like that:))
wheird shit.jpg
wheird shit.jpg (739 KiB) Viewed 11042 times
__
--[[BMD's cameras and Resolve all-post workflow evangelist
My old stuff: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Debug: ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 32 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.]]--
Offline

Irina Avgustyniak

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Sep 14, 2015 7:43 pm

Hello!

I didn't find a doc/wiki/... about Fusion 8 API, so this thread seems to be best fit for my question. If there is a designated place for tech questions, please redirect me there.

I have plugins for Fusion 6 and 7 where I use Fusion's command 'executebg'. It doesn't seem to be supported in Fusion 8, so I was wondering if there is an equivalent of this command.

Thank you very much.
Last edited by Irina Avgustyniak on Tue Sep 15, 2015 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

nick cremers

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:20 am

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostTue Sep 15, 2015 3:07 pm

Hey there, I like to say that I really love the fact that fusion is free to use out there.
Good job!!!
But since this is the beta feedback area I like to add that when I press show normalised image it crashes.
This happens when I use the render3d node and want to output a zchannel.
If I select the zchannel in the viewport and normalise it it crashes.

Just something I came across.
I find this beta2 much better than the first so keep that up!!!
Offline

agustinfassolari

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:31 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostTue Sep 15, 2015 5:00 pm

Hi,

I'm new in fusion. When i execute the software this error appear and then fusion gets automaticly closed. Im working with version 8 Beta for mac.

Can you give me any idea about what is happening?

Thanks
Attachments
error fusion.tiff
error fusion.tiff (207.54 KiB) Viewed 10955 times
Offline

Ant Marriner

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:27 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Sep 16, 2015 5:11 pm

I have just installed Fusion 8 Beta 2 for Mac

The bin window reports 'Library on localhost [unavailable]' and the RMB 'Create Tool Folders' is greyed out.

also, there are no scripts available.

Is this expected for this build, an install issue or just me?

Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2488
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Sep 16, 2015 6:43 pm

Ant Marriner wrote:I have just installed Fusion 8 Beta 2 for Mac

The bin window reports 'Library on localhost [unavailable]' and the RMB 'Create Tool Folders' is greyed out.

also, there are no scripts available.

Is this expected for this build, an install issue or just me?

Thanks.


Could be that Fusion can't talk to FusionServer. Might be a permission or firewall issue?
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Ant Marriner

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:27 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Sep 16, 2015 7:18 pm

So, I tried some things and Managed to get the scripts back, If anyone needs it -

Go to the Fusion App in the Applications folder and RMB 'Show Package Contents'
Navigate to Contents -> MacOS -> Developer -> Scripts and copy the folders Comp, Tool, and Utility

And paste into [YourUser] -> Library -> Application Support -> Blackmagic Design -> Fusion -> Scripts.

Restart Fusion

- worked for me but still no Tool Bins ..
Offline

VladMafteiu

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:44 pm
  • Location: Denmark

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSun Sep 20, 2015 6:49 am

How about remapping Cmd + Space to Ctrl + Space for Add Tool command. I don’t want shortcuts to be the same as spotlight shortcut.

Also the Duplicate Fuse gives some conversion error.

Edit: Finally the transform widgets are unstable as they could be. Hover over the Z handle and the X handle gets selected. Hover over the select all axis and you get just one axis.
Offline
User avatar

Njordy Jovanovich

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:09 am
  • Location: Brooklyn

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSun Sep 20, 2015 7:49 pm

Lots of visual glitches in Spline and Timeline
Screen Shot 2015-09-18 at 20.57.42.png
Screen Shot 2015-09-18 at 20.57.42.png (92.64 KiB) Viewed 10663 times
Offline

VladMafteiu

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:44 pm
  • Location: Denmark

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostTue Sep 22, 2015 2:27 pm

When you select a time bar the colors are barely visible since there is not enough contrast.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 17.25.40.png
Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 17.25.40.png (28.05 KiB) Viewed 10579 times
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 190
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostTue Sep 22, 2015 5:53 pm

VladMafteiu wrote:How about remapping Cmd + Space to Ctrl + Space for Add Tool command. I don’t want shortcuts to be the same as spotlight shortcut.

Also the Duplicate Fuse gives some conversion error.

Edit: Finally the transform widgets are unstable as they could be. Hover over the Z handle and the X handle gets selected. Hover over the select all axis and you get just one axis.

With Beta 3 I'm guessing the Fusion.hotkey file will be back and working so we can map most of the keys as we like them. I'm using a custom scheme so I have all my Nuke keys, tab for tools, m for merge, t for transform, c for CC node, etc - not that they are in any way "better", it's just easier to have the same behavior in the apps I use. :)
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline

Ales Kubovič

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:50 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostSat Sep 26, 2015 8:08 pm

First, thank you for such excellent software!
The new version has a nice design. But I do not understand a few things:
1.) The sequence of images when browsing are no longer combined in one unit. This means that I have to search for the beginning of each sequence, and it is very tedious. Previous file viewer was excellent. I do not know why it was replaced by the standard Windows file manager.

2.) The Blins not work

3.) The keyboard shortcuts have changed. I do not understand ..

Otherwise, very happy to work with him, even if it is sometimes unstable rendering node. But it may be a problem of my system :) Win7 x64

Thank you!

cheers
Offline

Mick McManus

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 5:54 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Sep 28, 2015 6:48 pm

3D TEXT NODES ON PATH CAUSING CRASH

I've been working on a comp which includes 4 3D text nodes each of which has a 'path' layout.
Each time I tried to create the 4th 3D text node, Fusion crashed. In the end I reverted back to Text+ nodes and image planes to achieve what I wanted. This solution is stable.
Offline

Trevor Asquerthian

  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 10:03 am

BUG: F4 does not maximise to fullscreen

PostTue Sep 29, 2015 8:38 am

I'm sure this will already have been reported - I'm on OSX 10.9.5
HP Z840 Dual Intel Xeon E5-2637
32GB RAM (4x8GB Sticks)
Nvidia Quadro M5000 8GB - Driver 27.21.14.5206
Storage & Cache:
Local Raid 0 (3 drive) - 190w 270r
or
Areca 8050T2 via TB2 - Raid 3 - 630w 740r
Offline
User avatar

Trev Burgess

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:16 am
  • Location: Cardiff, UK

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Sep 30, 2015 6:33 pm

Loving fusion on the mac. Am i missing something here though? The tiles don't have images on them even when I select show tiles. Not the end of the world, but makes things a bit tricky to work with.
I have come to this from Shake, so am still getting up to speed.
Also how do you get the new beta versions. is it the same way re-registering on the site or is there a quicker way to update it?
If in doubt... do nothing.
Offline
User avatar

Njordy Jovanovich

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:09 am
  • Location: Brooklyn

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Oct 01, 2015 12:07 am

Trev Burgess wrote:Loving fusion on the mac. Am i missing something here though? The tiles don't have images on them even when I select show tiles. Not the end of the world, but makes things a bit tricky to work with.

It was fixed in ß2, released over a week ago.

I have come to this from Shake, so am still getting up to speed.
Also how do you get the new beta versions. is it the same way re-registering on the site or is there a quicker way to update it?


As far as I know, no easier way. :(
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 190
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Oct 01, 2015 9:23 pm

Njordy Jovanovich wrote:As far as I know, no easier way. :(

...calling loudly as for someone lost in the Amazon basin...

Rony!! (add the echo, reading this, please)

This is really something you guy's should solve too, filling in that form for every update only isn't annoying for us, it's amazingly redundant for Blackmagic Design, do as SideFX has done, have people identify with their forum login or something like that, before downloading, it's seriously annoying to have to fill that out every time - just because it's redundant, not that I'm nbothering with registering to download, I can take that, but the redundancy, it's very in your face "not thought through". [/end rant]

Edit: Hehe, reading this back, I see clearly what a horrible person I can be sometimes. :D
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline
User avatar

KonradWelz

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:26 pm
  • Location: Bracknell, UK

Distorted audio on QuickTime render

PostSun Oct 11, 2015 12:05 pm

Just rendered out a ProRes(HQ) .mov file and attached a .wav audio file with a negative offset.
The resulting QuickTime movie has totally distorted audio - but is in sync at least.
Using Yosemite 10.10.5 and Fusion Beta 2, audio file is 48kHz, 32bit stereo, source footage in Loader is PNG
Thanks,
Konrad
Offline
User avatar

KonradWelz

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:26 pm
  • Location: Bracknell, UK

Re: BUG: F4 does not maximise to fullscreen

PostSun Oct 11, 2015 12:08 pm

Trevor Asquerthian wrote:I'm sure this will already have been reported - I'm on OSX 10.9.5


This is also happening to me. Definitely a bug.

I'm on 10.10.5 using Fusion Beta 2
Offline

HarmVZon

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:44 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Oct 14, 2015 2:53 pm

Fusion seems to crash whenever I use a defocus node. The defocus works in first instance but when I try to drag the slider the program halts. No error message.

Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
2 x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5650 @ 2.67GHz, 2661 MHz, 6 cores, hypertreading on
Nvidia GTX 780 Ti
Offline

Ales Kubovič

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:50 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Oct 15, 2015 7:31 pm

Ales Kubovič wrote:First, thank you for such excellent software!
The new version has a nice design. But I do not understand a few things:
1.) The sequence of images when browsing are no longer combined in one unit. This means that I have to search for the beginning of each sequence, and it is very tedious. Previous file viewer was excellent. I do not know why it was replaced by the standard Windows file manager.

2.) The Blins not work

3.) The keyboard shortcuts have changed. I do not understand ..

Otherwise, very happy to work with him, even if it is sometimes unstable rendering node. But it may be a problem of my system :) Win7 x64

Thank you!

cheers


Under Windows 10 works great! :)
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 596
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Oct 21, 2015 12:17 pm

For Defocus Slider to work without crashing go to your preferences -> Global and default Settings -> OpenCL -> Set "Caching" to disable.
I think it is something with the amd driver, I just checked on the 15.10 beta driver - it works with "Caching" set to Full, but previously I've never seen OpenCL worked with Caching. all the previous versions gave me crash when Caching set is on somewhat but disable!
__
--[[BMD's cameras and Resolve all-post workflow evangelist
My old stuff: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Debug: ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 32 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.]]--
Offline

HarmVZon

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:44 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Oct 21, 2015 12:23 pm

Eugene Afanasiev wrote:For Defocus Slider to work without crashing go to your preferences -> Global and default Settings -> OpenCL -> Set "Caching" to disable.
I think it is something with the amd driver, I just checked on the 15.10 beta driver - it works with "Caching" set to Full, but previously I've never seen OpenCL worked with Caching. all the previous versions gave me crash when Caching set is on somewhat but disable!


Thanks, that helped. Strange thing is that i'm not using AMD but NVIDIA and get the same bug. What is the caching for anyway?
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2488
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Oct 21, 2015 5:00 pm

By not reading the image back into system RAM (as a Fusion image object) but leaving it in the memory of the OpenCL device, you save a ton of memory and PCI-e bandwidth, allowing you to render much faster. It's only useful under 3 conditions though... 1) you have multiple OpenCL tools chained together, 2) those OpenCL tools support caching, and 3) you aren't using the outputs anywhere else, like in a viewer or in another branch.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

HarmVZon

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:44 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Oct 21, 2015 5:07 pm

So probably the defocus tools (and others) don't support caching and crash
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2488
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostWed Oct 21, 2015 5:55 pm

Not so, the drivers themselves may be at fault, or the OCLManager.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Jeff Ha

  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:38 am

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Oct 29, 2015 11:58 am

any updates on the progress of the beta dev? Will B3 drop any time soon? Thx.
Offline
User avatar

Jason Bowdach

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:57 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Nov 02, 2015 4:13 pm

Agreed. Any idea if there will be another beta soon or if the official (and studio) are potentially coming up :D
Colorist \ Finishing Artist | www.JasonBowdach.com | www.PixelToolsPost.com
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 725
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostTue Nov 17, 2015 6:11 pm

No official word yet. :(
Offline

Gregoire Giral

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:10 pm
  • Location: Paris - FRANCE

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostThu Nov 19, 2015 4:20 pm

Hi everybody,

Good initiative on that thread !

I'm very new to Fusion( i'm a mac user) and i heard that hotkey have changed in Fusion 8 (for mac at least).

It would be really great to have some kind of a list of the new hotkeys if someone from BMD could provide it.

For exemple if someone knows the new hotkey that invert the background and foreground (odly ctrl+w if i get it right) it would be anwsome !

Hotkey are very important, specialy when you open your software to new users, hope you'll make something about it.

I wish you all a nice and sweet day.

Thanks by advance !
I'm on a Mac Pro 2013 running Yosemite last version
- 2,7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
- 64Go RAM
- 2 x 6Go AMD FirePro D700
Offline

Karel Holubička

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 8:36 am

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Nov 23, 2015 2:26 pm

Hello,
I am Fusion user since 2000 and V3.1.
As I am very conservative, I dislike update of the GUI, however, I understand that shift to BMD design has to be made, and shift to Mac costs something too.

I always had discussions with Eyeon complaining about keeping AVI loader at 8bit accuracy, telling them, that BMD tools can records 10bit AVI.
They forced me to work with QT, when higher accuracy was needed.
Nowadays, Fusion is owned by BMD, but still,
even when Loader is set to 16bit accuracy,
AVI is read through DirectShow and uses first 8 bits only.

Furthermore, when I did this test, which analyzes n-th bit using Custom Tools,
and is running at 2,9 frame/s at F6,
and 2,65 frame/s at F7,
it slowed to 106 frame/s at F8 - 40x slower?
What happened? Is some tracking code there?

Will AVI be readable with 10 or 16 bit accuracy?
Will F8 keep speed of F7/F6?

regards,
Karel Holubička
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Fusion 8 BETA FEEDBACK

PostMon Nov 23, 2015 8:06 pm

the custom tool is significant slower in the beta of 8, this is a known issues and was reported here several times and was confirmed by BMD
Next

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests