Page 1 of 1

Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 8:21 am
by Dennis Fassbaender
Hi, when i have finished rotoscoping my spline does not fit to my footage - but it is working as aspected.
Can you tell me why the spline moves away from the footage? And how can i bring it back to the correct position?

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:00 pm
by michael vorberg
i guess you footage in the loader (where you did the roto) is a different image size then the what you render in the Render3d

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:25 pm
by Dennis Fassbaender
Render -> Image ->
Width: 1152
Height: 648

Footage ->
Width: 1152
Height: 648

Roto Spline -> Image ->
Width: 1152
Height: 648

CompSettings:
1152 x 648

All the same.
It seems that the connected 3d-plane generates this error. Because while the footage will be displayed on one monitor the spline fits. And when i move that 3d plane, the spline stays in position - it does not move (optical) with the plane, but its still working correct. Strange!

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:51 pm
by Chad Capeland
The preview controls are relative to the Viewer, not the object. Same reason it is stretched, your footage isn't square.

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:38 pm
by Dennis Fassbaender
Means that is normal and canĀ“t be fixed`?

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:58 pm
by Chad Capeland
Can be fixed, but the fix usually isn't worth the effort. It's rarely helpful at all. In your case, what would it tell you?

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:40 pm
by Dennis Fassbaender
Its irritating me to have something connected to a plane that stays in position when i move the plane.
Also to see a mask on a place where it is not working.
So i have to understand a mask is a floating object. Parenting (connecting) it does not automaticly mean that it will move with its parent object.

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:49 pm
by Chad Capeland
The mask moves with the image. You aren't moving the image. You're moving the plane.

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:25 pm
by Dennis Fassbaender
Okay i thought i would move everything what is connected together.
So while the spline is connected to the image -> image to the plane
the image moves with the plane, but the spline stays on the original position of the image.

However- i think ill not understand this but accept it. So my next question about this is, how can i make the spline-position fit in 3d-view without affecting its maskingeffect on the image?
Or- when this is not possible can i hide it from 3d-view because its irritating?