Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

What exactly is a Script? And what does it do?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Edwin Rivera

What exactly is a Script? And what does it do?

PostSun Feb 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Hi guys

Im still a noobie trying to go intermediate
I have never worked on a script before, don't know what's for? Can you help me understand it

Also i checked out some options that the script has in fusion 8 that other past tutorials never had

-Edit
-Bake Animation
-Combine Strokes
-Edit Multistroke

^what exactly are these for?

Thanks a lot,
I appreciate the help

Have a great day

Blazej Floch

Re: What exactly is a Script? And what does it do?

PostMon Feb 06, 2017 7:10 am

I understand your confusion as there is multiple meanings for the word "script" in this industry.
However in Fusion "script" means a piece of code based of a scripting language: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scripting_language

Fusion supports both the Lua and Python Scripting Language. With these and a bit of knowledge about programming you can access most of Fusions functionality in order to automate tasks that are repetitive, prone to human error, hard to do manually etc. Similarly you can extend Fusions functionality if possible with the given access to underlying functionality.

To give you a simple example, imagine you want to automate the task of disabling all savers in the composision, but the selected.
In written English a script could do the following task:
Code: Select all
for each saver tool in the composition:
    if the current saver tool is not selected:   
          set this saver tool to pass-through

The computer does not understand this though. To see how this would work in a real script the quick start tutorial in the Fusion 8 scripting guide:
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/manual ... _Guide.pdf