Page 1 of 1

Viewers blank

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:36 am
by joel383
Hello, absolute Fusion noob here.

When I select a clip from the timeline in Resolve, then click the fusion button, Fusion loads but the viewers are blank. I have tried toggling the rightview leftview dots, and split wipe... nothing.

Literally every tutorial just says put the playhead over the clip, then click Fusion button... but nothing displays in the viewers when I do this, and no amount of messing around changes this for me...

What am I doing wrong?

This is Resolve 15.2.4.006
on CentOS 7

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 9:25 am
by Alaz Soytemiz
Try selecting the MediaIn node then clicking 1

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 10:39 pm
by joel383
Alaz Soytemiz wrote:Try selecting the MediaIn node then clicking 1


Thanks, tried that, didn't work.

I also have tried opening new projects, and adding different clips.
I have also tried to drag the Mediain over to the viewer...ect.


These are all .mov files, does that make a difference?

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 1:42 am
by xunile
joel383 wrote:
Alaz Soytemiz wrote:Try selecting the MediaIn node then clicking 1


Thanks, tried that, didn't work.

I also have tried opening new projects, and adding different clips.
I have also tried to drag the Mediain over to the viewer...ect.


These are all .mov files, does that make a difference?


Try starting out with a generator instead of a video clip, like a Solid Color Generator or a Fusion Comp Generator and see if they appear in the viewers.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:49 am
by joel383
xunile wrote:
joel383 wrote:
Alaz Soytemiz wrote:Try selecting the MediaIn node then clicking 1


Thanks, tried that, didn't work.

I also have tried opening new projects, and adding different clips.
I have also tried to drag the Mediain over to the viewer...ect.
These are all .mov files, does that make a difference?


Try starting out with a generator instead of a video clip, like a Solid Color Generator or a Fusion Comp Generator and see if they appear in the viewers.


This is actually what I tried first... as I was trying to make some animated text to overlay a clip. The text shows on the media timeline viewer, but not in Fusion viewers! frustrating.

I'm not finding much information on this problem... weird.
I wonder if it is because I have an older monitor? 1440x900
Resolve is oversized and is not scaling correctly to the screen. I have to hold alt+click to drag window to use some functions.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:53 am
by joel383
getting this odd message in the console"

MediaOut1 cannot get Parameter for Input at time 556
MediaOut1 cannot get Parameter for Input at time 556
Merge1 cannot get DoD for Foreground at time 0
MediaOut1 cannot get Parameter for Input at time 0
MediaOut1 failed at time 0

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:36 am
by Frank Feijen
Also: check that your looking at the right 'time'. This happens to me when my red position-indicator is not 'inside' the timing of my fusion-clip.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:13 am
by joel383
Frank Feijen wrote:Also: check that your looking at the right 'time'. This happens to me when my red position-indicator is not 'inside' the timing of my fusion-clip.


Tried this too, thanks.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:47 am
by joel383
Update: I installed the standalone version of Fusion 9, and the viewers work.

Frustrating that I can't get it to work inside Resolve 15

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:11 am
by lost_soul
Hello Joel:

Did you ever figure out what the issue was? I have a similar problem where the clips show in every tab except fusion. If I add a background I can see it in other tabs but not the fusion tab. I have in on 1 and out on two but they are just blank.

Like you I am on Centos 7 but I am using 16b3 studio.

Thanks

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:17 pm
by joshua.d.taft
I also would like a solution to this. Both viewers don't show anything unless it's a background element. There's no checker pattern or anything. I've tried to get anything to show in fusion, and nothing works. I'm running the latest version of 15, whichever that is.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 6:52 pm
by lost_soul
Are you running an AMD card? If so BMD support has told me they don't support AMD buy an NVidia card. As I had just bought a brand new card to get DR running I am not going out and buying another. I have been buying a new video card every 6 months or so for more than two years now and I am done. If it means I have to use some thing other that DR so be it.

Today I saw in one of Jayar's videos that there was a hardware guide for DR 15. I don't know if there is an updated one for 16.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 1:41 am
by Peter Chamberlain
We do support AMD cards so im not sure the context of your discussion with BMD about not supporting them. You need to install the correct drivers.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 11:01 pm
by lost_soul
For those that have been having this issue. I was finally able to get this going today. What is working for me is Centos 7 KDE version patched up to latest.

After that I installed the ROCM drivers following this guide.
https://rocm-documentation.readthedocs. ... Guide.html

Then install the Studio 16.5 beta.

I have tried the amdgpu, amdgpupro & and ROCM drivers on the Gnome version and couldn't even get DR to launch. I had reinstalled many many times in the past with the ROCM drivers and various versions of DR both 15 & 16 on the KDE desktop and the viewers on the Fusion tab never worked before today. So I am not sure if it is some thing that has been updated in Centos, the ROCM driver or the new beta of DR. I am just so glad this is finally working.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 10:45 pm
by GalinMcMahon
Any update? I was having this issue with 16.1. Upgraded to 16.1.1 and it persists. I'm noticing that the node name isn't appearing at the top of the viewer even though the viewer's dot is selected in the node. I've tried loading footage and I've tried fusion comps. Nothing will show on either viewer. Loaded an old database from when fusion was working and it doesn't change anything.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 10:53 pm
by lost_soul
If you are using an AMD card on Linux you need to either use the AMDGPUPro drivers or ROCM <12.1 I think it is. The Linux install thread will tell you which version. I would start there.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 10:55 pm
by GalinMcMahon
On NVidia and Win 10.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 2:18 pm
by Eddy Juillerat
Same here.
Can't make it work, like all of you guys.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 6:28 pm
by wfolta
joel383 wrote:When I select a clip from the timeline in Resolve, then click the fusion button, Fusion loads but the viewers are blank. I have tried toggling the rightview leftview dots, and split wipe... nothing.

Clicking on a clip does nothing in terms of what appears in Fusion. You specify the clip in one of two ways:

1. The highest clip in the Edit Timeline that's UNDER the PLAYHEAD.

2. Right-click on the clip and choose Open in Fusion Page. (At least in v17, maybe not earlier.)

* Note: I experimented a little and if the playhead is actually over a gap, the playhead seems to jump towards the front of the timeline until it hits a clip and submits that clip to Fusion. (In version 17.) At least that's what I see in Fusion's Viewer and when I go back to Edit, the playhead has been moved.

So I think your playhead is over nothing but you click on a clip thinking it will direct it to Fusion, but instead you get nothing, based on where your playhead is. Other folks have talked about "the background" but perhaps the background extends farther than the clip they want to edit -- i.e. it's under the playhead -- so that's what they get.

I could be guessing wrong, but this is consistent with what you shared.

Re: Viewers blank

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 5:59 am
by RedRider14
Me neither - doesn't work