Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Probe + color gain Fu16

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Tim Harris

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:45 am

Probe + color gain Fu16

PostThu Sep 19, 2019 5:59 am

Has anyone had issue with using the probe modifier and color gain in Fu16.
This setup in Fu9 will crash Fu16 is there something that needs to be taken into account in Fu16.
Is there an alternate way to gain match that will work in Fu16?
Thanks for any and all help.
Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      ColorGain2_2 = ColorGain {
         Inputs = {
            GainRed = Input { Expression = "MeasureMe_2:GetValue(\"TopLeftRed\",time)/MeasureMe_2:GetValue(\"TopLeftRed\",0)", },
            GainGreen = Input { Expression = "MeasureMe_2:GetValue(\"TopLeftGreen\",time)/MeasureMe_2:GetValue(\"TopLeftGreen\",0)", },
            GainBlue = Input { Expression = "MeasureMe_2:GetValue(\"TopLeftBlue\",time)/MeasureMe_2:GetValue(\"TopLeftBlue\",0)", },
            PreDividePostMultiply = Input { Value = 1, },
            ColorRanges = Input {
               Value = ColorCurves {
                  Curves = {
                     {
                        Points = {
                           { 0, 1 },
                           { 0.125, 0.75 },
                           { 0.375, 0.25 },
                           { 0.5, 0 }
                        }
                     },
                     {
                        Points = {
                           { 0.5, 0 },
                           { 0.625, 0.25 },
                           { 0.875, 0.75 },
                           { 1, 1 }
                        }
                     }
                  }
               },
            },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 1020, 250 } },
      },
      MeasureMe_2 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 50, },
            UseFrameFormatSettings = Input { Value = 1, },
            Width = Input { Value = 3840, },
            Height = Input { Value = 2160, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            TopLeftRed = Input {
               SourceOp = "Probe1",
               Source = "Result",
            },
            TopLeftGreen = Input {
               SourceOp = "Probe1",
               Source = "Green",
            },
            TopLeftBlue = Input {
               SourceOp = "Probe1",
               Source = "Blue",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 1089, 332 } },
      },
      Probe1 = Probe {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            ImageToProbe = Input {
               SourceOp = "ColorCorrector1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Position = Input { Value = { 0.50703125, 0.504166666666667 }, },
            ProbeRectangle = Input { Value = 1, },
            Width = Input { Value = 0.25421686746988, },
            Height = Input { Value = 0.232762312633833, },
         },
      },
      ColorCorrector1 = ColorCorrector {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            MasterRGBGain = Input {
               SourceOp = "ColorCorrector1MasterRGBGain",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            ColorRanges = Input {
               Value = ColorCurves {
                  Curves = {
                     {
                        Points = {
                           { 0, 1 },
                           { 0.4, 0.2 },
                           { 0.6, 0 },
                           { 1, 0 }
                        }
                     },
                     {
                        Points = {
                           { 0, 0 },
                           { 0.4, 0 },
                           { 0.6, 0.2 },
                           { 1, 1 }
                        }
                     }
                  }
               },
            },
            HistogramIgnoreTransparent = Input { Value = 1, },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Background1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 1025, 426 } },
      },
      ColorCorrector1MasterRGBGain = BezierSpline {
         SplineColor = { Red = 153, Green = 243, Blue = 219 },
         NameSet = true,
         KeyFrames = {
            [0] = { 1, RH = { 8.33333333333333, 1.41033333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
            [25] = { 2.231, LH = { 16.6666666666667, 1.82066666666667 }, RH = { 29.6666666666667, 1.80066666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
            [39] = { 0.94, LH = { 34.3333333333333, 1.37033333333333 }, RH = { 42.63, 0.9598 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
            [50] = { 1, LH = { 46.37, 0.9802 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
         }
      },
      Background1 = Background {
         Inputs = {
            GlobalOut = Input { Value = 50, },
            Width = Input { Value = 3840, },
            Height = Input { Value = 2160, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            Type = Input { Value = FuID { "Corner" }, },
            TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 0.569, },
            TopLeftGreen = Input { Value = 0.256, },
            TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 0.163, },
            TopRightRed = Input { Value = 0.381, },
            TopRightGreen = Input { Value = 0.463, },
            TopRightBlue = Input { Value = 0.325, },
            BottomLeftRed = Input { Value = 0.269, },
            BottomLeftGreen = Input { Value = 0.725, },
            BottomLeftBlue = Input { Value = 0.175, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 853, 428 } },
      }
   }
}
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 290
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Probe + color gain Fu16

PostMon Jun 29, 2020 5:25 am

Hi - sorry, never saw this message at the time, but I can confirm your findings. I came across your post when searching for issues with the probe modifier in Fusion 16. I'm currently working a project and the probe modifier is extremely prone to freezing Fusion 16. Especially when clicking in the timeline (to jump to a different frame). Just now, in the last 30mins I probably had this situation 10 times.

Same issue with Fusion in Resolve. For both I'm using the very latest (16.2.3).

In comparison, Fusion 9 doesn't crash at all..... so, in my experience, something is wonky there. I'm not sure if it is caused by the probe modifier directly or if it just manages to unearth another underlying issue.

Would be interesting to see what the experience is of other folks with the probe modifier in Fusion 16 (/Fusion in Resolve). For me, right now, for my use cases, it's not workable.
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com
Offline

Okke Verbart

  • Posts: 290
  • Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Probe + color gain Fu16

PostMon Jun 29, 2020 5:26 am

by the way, did you raise this as a bug with BMD?
www.ablackbirdcalledsue.com
Offline
User avatar

Tim Harris

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:45 am

Re: Probe + color gain Fu16

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 2:18 am

Hi, just saw your message. Thanks for confirming this as an issue. The people over at We Suck Less also confirmed that there was an issue around the same time I posted this here. I just sent an email to BMD about this hopefully there will be a reply and a fix for this.
The other issue I hope they will resolve is the the issue with Frischluft Lens Care plugins has had with F16+ as it looks to be an issue on BMD side not the developer of the plugin. Anyway just hope they get fixed, been a while now.
Offline
User avatar

jaybee

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:27 pm
  • Location: Bristol, UK
  • Real Name: Jamie Brightmore

Re: Probe + color gain Fu16

PostTue Feb 27, 2024 10:11 am

Tim Harris wrote:Has anyone had issue with using the probe modifier and color gain in Fu16.
This setup in Fu9 will crash Fu16 is there something that needs to be taken into account in Fu16.
Is there an alternate way to gain match that will work in Fu16?
Thanks for any and all help.

I discovered this technique on Vito's channel and soon hit the same issue.

I contacted support with a demo file. The rep was able to replicate the behaviour in Fusion Studio and in Resolve Studio (17th Jan '24) and has submitted a bug report to the developers to look into further.

It looks like such a useful technique when building patches, etc. Hopefully it will get fixed one day soon.

Vito's demo: youtube.com/watch?v=OBq4njrx_oIl
https://jaybee.productions
Offline
User avatar

Tim Harris

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:45 am

Re: Probe + color gain Fu16

PostThu Feb 29, 2024 1:29 am

Glad this has been raised again, and let's hope that it can be fixed in the next update, as it has been a while with no fix. But I must say that with other bugs if the support team have been able to identify and replicate the problem a fix is usually implemented in the next release. Let's hope it happens soon.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: birdseye, KrunoSmithy and 43 guests