Bars and Tone

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Allen24

  • Posts: 197
  • Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:31 pm
  • Real Name: allen williams

Bars and Tone

PostFri Oct 16, 2020 4:23 am

I just watched a tutorial on how to create tone (with or without bars)...and it was like 14 steps.
In Premiere you simply click bars and tone and they appear. Does anyone know an EASY way to generate tone in Resolve??
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6227
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bars and Tone

PostFri Oct 16, 2020 5:15 pm

In the Edit page select the type of bars you want in the Effects/Generators menu and place on the Timeline. Drag it to the length you require.
In the Fairlight page add a mono or stereo track. Click on Fairlight at the top of the page and select Test Tone Settings. The Oscillator window will appear. Click on the three dots top right of the window and click to open the Patch window. Patch the Oscillator to the new track and record.

Dual screens used for clarity.
Attachments
Color Bars.jpg
Color Bars.jpg (324.44 KiB) Viewed 10400 times
Oscillator Patched to Track.jpg
Oscillator Patched to Track.jpg (276.66 KiB) Viewed 10400 times
Recording Tone.jpg
Recording Tone.jpg (312.69 KiB) Viewed 10400 times
Last edited by Charles Bennett on Fri Oct 16, 2020 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 19.0b build 20
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6227
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bars and Tone

PostFri Oct 16, 2020 5:22 pm

Back in the Edit Page this is what you see. The level in the Main 1 meter is 3db down which is correct when sending a centred mono signal to a stereo output. They will match if you place the tone on a stereo track.
Attachments
Back to the Edit Page.jpg
Back to the Edit Page.jpg (349.52 KiB) Viewed 10396 times
Resolve Studio 19.0b build 20
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.
Offline

Allen24

  • Posts: 197
  • Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:31 pm
  • Real Name: allen williams

Re: Bars and Tone

PostFri Oct 16, 2020 11:44 pm

Thanks. I appreciate the info. But. As in Premiere Pro, you right click the mouse and hit bars and tone and there you have it. I keep telling people Resolve is convoluted and they keep telling me its not. LOL. Bars and tone is so basic how is there not a one click solution? Same as trying to save a simple single still frame. Again, in Premiere it's literally a single one button click, in Resolve you have to go into color and blah blah blah. Oh well. Looking forward to Resolve 17.
Again, thank you.
Offline

Allen24

  • Posts: 197
  • Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:31 pm
  • Real Name: allen williams

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 12:03 am

I just went through all the steps and finally got it to work. NO THANK YOU! Wow....all those steps just to create tone!???? Blackmagic engineers really need to spend a week with some real editors and get rid of all this nonsense. This should be like a 3 step process at the most!
The engineers already hate me,...but you know, the customer is always right.
Offline
User avatar

robedge

  • Posts: 2675
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: U.S.
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 2:18 am

Allen24 wrote:I just went through all the steps and finally got it to work. NO THANK YOU! Wow....all those steps just to create tone!???? Blackmagic engineers really need to spend a week with some real editors and get rid of all this nonsense. This should be like a 3 step process at the most!
The engineers already hate me,...but you know, the customer is always right.


As a matter of curiosity, what exactly are you using bars and tone to achieve?
Video Cameras: iPhone, Pocket 4K
Microphones: Schoeps, DPA
Audio Recorder: Sound Devices
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1863
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 2:58 am

robedge wrote:As a matter of curiosity, what exactly are you using bars and tone to achieve?

I would imagine he's adding 2-pops to timelines.
Ryzen 5800X3D
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17.4.1
Windows 11 Pro 21H2
Offline
User avatar

robedge

  • Posts: 2675
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: U.S.
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 3:05 am

Jack Fairley wrote:
robedge wrote:As a matter of curiosity, what exactly are you using bars and tone to achieve?

I would imagine he's adding 2-pops to timelines.


But bars and tone and a 2-pop aren’t the same thing. In any event, I don’t understand why someone would want to make a 2-pop over and over rather than do it once or just for fun. There’s also no magic in 1Kz, which is readily available anyway. Hell, for a 2-pop tone I’ve used dinosaur sound effects just to play around.

I asked Allen what he’s trying to achieve because it isn’t obvious.
Video Cameras: iPhone, Pocket 4K
Microphones: Schoeps, DPA
Audio Recorder: Sound Devices
Offline

Allen24

  • Posts: 197
  • Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:31 pm
  • Real Name: allen williams

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 6:58 pm

As a matter of curiosity, what exactly are you using bars and tone to achieve?

Just to balance my speakers and to make sure their placement is exact. And their volume levels are exact.
The point is, this should be soooo simple and its soooo convoluted.
Offline
User avatar

robedge

  • Posts: 2675
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: U.S.
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 8:35 pm

Allen24 wrote:As a matter of curiosity, what exactly are you using bars and tone to achieve?

Just to balance my speakers and to make sure their placement is exact. And their volume levels are exact.
The point is, this should be soooo simple and its soooo convoluted.


It sounds like you're trying to set up your speakers for sound mixing. If so, there are lots of discussions about that on the internet. It's party objective, partly subjective, and it isn't particularly hard. However, "bars and tone" have nothing to do with the process. Most sound engineers mixing music wouldn't even know what "bars and tone" is :)
Video Cameras: iPhone, Pocket 4K
Microphones: Schoeps, DPA
Audio Recorder: Sound Devices
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6227
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 9:45 pm

Bars and tone are a reference for checking your reproduction chain. Back when using videotape for broadcast all masters had bars and tone. Also all audio masters had a set of alignment tones at the head before the programme material.
Calibrating your audio monitors is a different story and should be done with pink noise and a sound level meter. A 1k tone is not the way to go for that.
If a sound engineer today does not understand the use of tones what a sorry state things have become.
Resolve Studio 19.0b build 20
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.
Offline
User avatar

robedge

  • Posts: 2675
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: U.S.
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 10:03 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:Calibrating your audio monitors is a different story and should be done with pink noise and a sound level meter. A 1k tone is not the way to go for that.


If that's what Allen is trying to do, and he doesn't own a sound level meter, this organisation makes a free app that turns a smartphone into one: https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/2018-124/default.html

The app is pretty well-regarded. On iOS, it's called "NIOSH Sound Level Meter". Don't know about Android. NIOSH is part of the US Center for Disease Control, so the app may not be available outside the US. However, there are lots of other sound level apps.

Yes, people generally use pink noise.
Video Cameras: iPhone, Pocket 4K
Microphones: Schoeps, DPA
Audio Recorder: Sound Devices
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6227
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 10:15 pm

For monitor calibration the meter needs to have c-weighting and a slow response.
Resolve Studio 19.0b build 20
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Zoom H2n.
Offline
User avatar

robedge

  • Posts: 2675
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: U.S.
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Oct 17, 2020 10:20 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:For monitor calibration the meter needs to have c-weighting and a slow response.


Ideally, one owns or rents a quality sound level meter. Not everybody is able, or willing, to do that. In this case, we're talking about someone who appears to be trying to calibrate monitors with DaVinci Resolve.
Video Cameras: iPhone, Pocket 4K
Microphones: Schoeps, DPA
Audio Recorder: Sound Devices
Offline
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 21527
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSun Oct 18, 2020 2:50 am

FYI: the NIOSH Sound Level Meter is available outside the US too.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.5, MacOS 13.6.5
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017, eGPU
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 10997
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Bars and Tone

PostMon Oct 19, 2020 6:49 am

BTW, anybody who wants to download pre-made audio test tones for free, here's a link:

https://spaces.hightail.com/space/wyXRz
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

AndreBlaze

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2024 7:38 am
  • Real Name: André Blais

Re: Bars and Tone

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 3:09 am

Sorry to revive a now almost 4-year-old thread but yet another coming-from-Pro-Tools request:

I'd love to have a keyboard shortcut that allows me to generate 1kHz sine tone for the length of the timeline selected on a given track. Patching/use of bar generators is super clunky fwiw.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 10997
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Feb 24, 2024 4:38 am

AndreBlaze wrote:I'd love to have a keyboard shortcut that allows me to generate 1kHz sine tone for the length of the timeline selected on a given track. Patching/use of bar generators is super clunky fwiw.

Well, it takes 10 seconds to download the tones I have up on the net, and less than that to drag it to a timeline and use it in a project.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

AndreBlaze

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2024 7:38 am
  • Real Name: André Blais

Re: Bars and Tone

PostSat Feb 24, 2024 7:37 am

Marc Wielage wrote:
AndreBlaze wrote:I'd love to have a keyboard shortcut that allows me to generate 1kHz sine tone for the length of the timeline selected on a given track. Patching/use of bar generators is super clunky fwiw.

Well, it takes 10 seconds to download the tones I have up on the net, and less than that to drag it to a timeline and use it in a project.


Yeah you're right it's really not hard at all don't get me wrong - and once you have it you have it.. but it is nice to just be able to instantly generate it with a key command :)

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests