Render video with all information above highlights

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Kosmonavt

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2021 4:54 pm
  • Real Name: Denis Stoletov

Render video with all information above highlights

PostSat Jun 22, 2024 4:24 pm

There is a lot of information in the video file above the 1023 line and below the 0 line.

Image

My task is to edit only the sound. Another person in the Premier Pro program will lower the highlights from the overlight and raise the shadows from the darkness.

I only want to edit the audio and save all the original information on the video. How do I do this?

All the methods of deliver (render) I've tried cut information above 1023 and below 0
Offline
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 22742
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Render video with all information above highlights

PostSun Jun 23, 2024 2:49 am

You could deliver studio range and hope they understand it.
But it would be much better if they use the originals, and give you a rough grade to work on the sound. I'm sorry, but you got the workflow all mixed up.
My desaster protection: export a .drp file to a physically separated storage regularly.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.7, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
Monterey 12.7.5 with 19b4 (sandbox)
SE, USM G3
Offline

Kosmonavt

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2021 4:54 pm
  • Real Name: Denis Stoletov

Re: Render video with all information above highlights

PostSun Jun 23, 2024 8:33 am

You are right, but question is more complex.
I have given a fictional case.
There are a lot of situations when I want to render (deliver) ALL existing information without cutting highs and lows.

Is there such an option?
Offline
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 22742
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Render video with all information above highlights

PostSun Jun 23, 2024 9:05 am

In the film industry one would use image sequences, like EXR.
But a codec like CineForm RGB 16 or ProRes 4444 would work as well (and are overkill for many cameras). These can store studio range.
My desaster protection: export a .drp file to a physically separated storage regularly.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.7, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
Monterey 12.7.5 with 19b4 (sandbox)
SE, USM G3
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 5915
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Render video with all information above highlights

PostSun Jun 23, 2024 2:52 pm

The manual has repeated warnings about this issue. The passage below concerns cache and optimized media, but the same principle would seem to apply:

Be aware that the format you choose via the “Optimized Media Format” menu will determine whether out-of-bounds image data (also known as “overshoots”) and Alpha Channels are preserved when the clip is cached

Preventing Clipping: You should use 16-bit float, ProRes 4444, ProRes 4444 XQ, or
DNxHR 444 if you plan on grading using optimized media. This is particularly true for
HDR grading.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 3961
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Render video with all information above highlights

PostMon Jun 24, 2024 9:56 am

You should use the full waveform display, not the RBG parade scopes to evaluate output levels. Send the audio only mixed file and the original untouched video and let the Premiere editor combine the two files.
Resolve 19.0 b4 Mac OSX 14.5 Sonoma
Mac Studio Max 32GB
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 11484
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Render video with all information above highlights

PostFri Jun 28, 2024 7:13 am

Kosmonavt wrote:There is a lot of information in the video file above the 1023 line and below the 0 line.

Is it possible you're looking at the file in VIDEO data mode when you should be looking in FULL mode (or vice-versa)? A lot depends on how the file was created. Check the Data Levels in Clip Attributes and flip it the other way and see what happens.
Certified DaVinci Resolve Color Trainer • AdvancedColorTraining.com

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David E King, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 15 guests