How to work with raw and dng.

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

OlegMush

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2021 4:39 pm
  • Location: Russia, Smolensk
  • Real Name: Oleg Mushkantsev

How to work with raw and dng.

PostSat Jul 03, 2021 5:43 pm

Hello
please tell me !
how to import raw and in what codec to render it, preferably in adobe premiere pro or AE, and if you don't mind, can you tell me how to do it in davinchi?
I have a bmcc 2.5k ef camera
thanks for answers
Offline

rNeil H

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:43 pm
  • Real Name: R. Neil Haugen

Re: How to work with raw and dng.

PostSat Jul 03, 2021 6:33 pm

In both Premiere Pro and Resolve you can work directly in sequences with the BRAW.

Then export to whatever format/codec you need for the use when you're done.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Offline

OlegMush

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2021 4:39 pm
  • Location: Russia, Smolensk
  • Real Name: Oleg Mushkantsev

Re: How to work with raw and dng.

PostSat Jul 03, 2021 7:39 pm

rNeil H wrote:In both Premiere Pro and Resolve you can work directly in sequences with the BRAW.

Then export to whatever format/codec you need for the use when you're done.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk


what is the best codec to choose so as not to lose quality?
Offline

rNeil H

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:43 pm
  • Real Name: R. Neil Haugen

Re: How to work with raw and dng.

PostSat Jul 03, 2021 8:18 pm

Are you archiving the media in the edited form?

And if so, what will your needs be for future use?

Those two questions need answers.

For basic deliverables it could range from 1080p H.264 8 hit to 12 bit RGB. Depending on what the client/service needs or requires.

It always ... depends on the specific need.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Offline

Jinson

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:28 am
  • Real Name: Jinson George

Re: How to work with raw and dng.

PostMon Jul 26, 2021 10:44 am

I can't important blackmagic raw braw file to adobe premier pro . I installed black magic raw 1.8.2 and black magic raw 1.6 but still I can't import . Do you know what can I do please ?
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2462
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: How to work with raw and dng.

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 7:05 am

rNeil H wrote:In both Premiere Pro and Resolve you can work directly in sequences with the BRAW.

Then export to whatever format/codec you need for the use when you're done.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

The OP said he has a BMCC 2.5K EF camera. The BMCC does not record in BRAW, only CDNG RAW. I don’t think PPro can work directly with CDNG. Might want to check that first.

Jinson wrote:I can't important blackmagic raw braw file to adobe premier pro . I installed black magic raw 1.8.2 and black magic raw 1.6 but still I can't import . Do you know what can I do please ?

As I said above, that is because your BMCC 2.5K does not have BRAW but CDNG. I know you can directly import CDNG in Da Vinci Resolve. You might give that a try. There are lots of tutorials on using Resolve on YouTube as well as e-books from Blackmagic website.

Also, you might want to move this post to the Da Vinci Resolve forum. You will get more help from there.
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11015
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: How to work with raw and dng.

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 8:58 am

Even if DNG was developed by Adobe, cDNG means nothing but trouble in Premiere.
In the BMCC 2.5K use ProRes instead.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.5
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB, eGFX Breakway RX 580
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM
Offline

Jeffrey Chance

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:13 pm

Re: How to work with raw and dng.

PostFri Aug 13, 2021 2:59 pm

Ellory Yu wrote:
rNeil H wrote:In both Premiere Pro and Resolve you can work directly in sequences with the BRAW.

Then export to whatever format/codec you need for the use when you're done.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

The OP said he has a BMCC 2.5K EF camera. The BMCC does not record in BRAW, only CDNG RAW. I don’t think PPro can work directly with CDNG. Might want to check that first.

Jinson wrote:I can't important blackmagic raw braw file to adobe premier pro . I installed black magic raw 1.8.2 and black magic raw 1.6 but still I can't import . Do you know what can I do please ?

As I said above, that is because your BMCC 2.5K does not have BRAW but CDNG. I know you can directly import CDNG in Da Vinci Resolve. You might give that a try. There are lots of tutorials on using Resolve on YouTube as well as e-books from Blackmagic website.

Also, you might want to move this post to the Da Vinci Resolve forum. You will get more help from there.


It's been years, but you can actually work with CDNG raw in Premiere Pro. Requires a *very* strange workaround. Instead of importing the media normally, you have to ingest it through a different panel. There's plenty of youtube tutorials that should show you how to do this.

The small caveat is that this was back in 2015-2016, I do not know if Premiere patched the workaround or not.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests