Import CinemaDNG .dng in Adobe Premiere, After Effects, AME

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

antoine

  • Posts: 431
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:20 am
  • Real Name: Antoine Dornstetter

Import CinemaDNG .dng in Adobe Premiere, After Effects, AME

PostFri Sep 03, 2021 7:35 pm

Hi all,

We are hereby announcing a new plugin project to import CinemaDNG .dng files, even those created by Blackmagic cameras, into Adobe CC video software : Premiere Pro, After Effects and Media Encoder. This plugin is called Influx for Adobe CC and you can find more information about it on our website here https://www.autokroma.com/Influx
With this you'll easily be able to post process .dng files directly inside Premiere Pro and After Effects without using a third party software encoder


For now, decoding CinemaDNG .dng files will be free (in BETA) until we release officially the feature. Each release of Influx with a codec in BETA (such as CinemaDNG or Magic Lantern .MLV) will allow for import and decoding this codec for up to 6 months after the date of the release. After this date, you'll need to update Influx for Adobe CC ! The goal here is to not allow for decoding a BETA codec for too long and entice you to update, while still letting you work on your current projects.

We are creating this topic to get some help from you : we need CinemaDNG file samples to test our plugin and improve the decoding of CinemaDNG files. Anyone who helps us will get a free license for Influx for Adobe CC (and it will also help in decoding others formats for Adobe CC !).


We're here if you need anything else.

Warning :!: : BRAW Studio, our Blackmagic RAW Importer for Adobe CC, does NOT import .DNG files, it only imports .BRAW files ! That's why we are creating Influx for Adobe CC, for all others formats out there.

Note : we received agreement from a moderator to open this thread. We're here to gather CinemaDNG sample files and help your post production with CinemaDNG files from Blackmagic hardware ;)
BRAW Studio for Adobe CC (Premiere Pro, After Effects, Media Encoder)
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Import CinemaDNG .dng in Adobe Premiere, After Effects,

PostWed Sep 08, 2021 8:18 pm

Premiere Pro has been able to natively import and work with the cDNG files from the original Pocket for years now.
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1902
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Import CinemaDNG .dng in Adobe Premiere, After Effects,

PostWed Sep 08, 2021 10:01 pm

BMD:s sample files are still available on blackmagicdesign.com.

URSA Mini 4.6K

Pocket Cinema Camera 4K
(before cDNG was replaced with Blackmagic Raw)

Blackmagic Cinema Camera
Archived on web.archive.org. These I assume are uncompressed and unlike the other files should work directly in Adobe products.

Jim Simon wrote:Premiere Pro has been able to natively import and work with the cDNG files from the original Pocket for years now.

Only until BMD released the firmware that added lossless compression in 2015.
Offline
User avatar

antoine

  • Posts: 431
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:20 am
  • Real Name: Antoine Dornstetter

Re: Import CinemaDNG .dng in Adobe Premiere, After Effects,

PostTue Sep 14, 2021 9:04 am

roger.magnusson wrote:
Jim Simon wrote:Premiere Pro has been able to natively import and work with the cDNG files from the original Pocket for years now.

Only until BMD released the firmware that added lossless compression in 2015.

Exactly ! Some files still can't be imported.

Thanks for the sample files Roger, but it seems to me they are all true Adobe CinemaDNG and not the new special CinemaDNG from BMD
BRAW Studio for Adobe CC (Premiere Pro, After Effects, Media Encoder)
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1902
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Import CinemaDNG .dng in Adobe Premiere, After Effects,

PostWed Sep 15, 2021 1:11 am

Maybe things have changed, or I'm misremembering what worked and what didn't. Either way, you can use slimRAW to create several different types. According to the slimRAW documentation you can create an Adobe compatible losslessly compressed file (there's an option for it), so maybe it's only the lossy one's that don't work now.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dcummens and 15 guests