Media Express incorrect Color Space

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

PatrickH

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2021 11:42 pm
  • Real Name: Patrick Hogue

Media Express incorrect Color Space

PostTue Nov 23, 2021 12:18 am

Recently I upgraded to Desktop Video 12 on my MacBook Pro (10.15.7), using a Decklink Duo2 in a Akitio Thunder2 PCIe expansion box. Suddenly one of the camera signals (Red Monstro) is now seen as Rec.2020, which transforms the color of the image in the Log and Capture tab. Recorded capture is unchanged and I don't play out to a monitor from this setup. There doesn't seem to be a place to change to Rec.709 in Preferences or Desktop Video Setup that actually does anything. The latest manual shows a dialogue box in DV Setup that can change this setting but it doesn't show up with my card. I have uninstalled and reinstalled Desktop Video and even reverted to previous versions without any luck. See the attached screen grab that shows incorrect gamut on the input.

Media Express.jpg
Media Express.jpg (334.83 KiB) Viewed 532 times
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 2753
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Media Express incorrect Color Space

PostTue Nov 23, 2021 11:55 pm

That setting is usually changed by the capture format set in preferences.
Try changing settings to see if that helps.
Resolve 17.4.3
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
Decklink Studio 2, FSI LM1770 Monitor
Offline

PatrickH

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2021 11:42 pm
  • Real Name: Patrick Hogue

Re: Media Express incorrect Color Space

PostWed Nov 24, 2021 6:30 am

Peter Cave wrote:That setting is usually changed by the capture format set in preferences.
Try changing settings to see if that helps.


Like I said, there is no dialogue box in the Media Express Preferences or in Desktop Video Setup that allows for changing the input color space. Frame rates and flavours of ProRes or RGB are all that are shown. Of course, as soon as you change project frame rate to something that is not the signal you are using, you get no video. Changing the recorded codec does nothing. Under the Final Cut Pro settings there is a tab to toggle color space but it doesn’t do anything that sticks.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 2753
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Media Express incorrect Color Space

PostSat Nov 27, 2021 1:22 am

Did you try changing the capture preset to a different format?
Resolve 17.4.3
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
Decklink Studio 2, FSI LM1770 Monitor
Offline

PatrickH

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2021 11:42 pm
  • Real Name: Patrick Hogue

Re: Media Express incorrect Color Space

PostTue Nov 30, 2021 8:28 pm

Sure. I have the option of 6 versions of ProRes, plus uncompressed RGB or YUV. Changing them does nothing to change the live input of the signal being detected as Rec.2020.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 17 guests