Duplicate clip, not clone clip

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

GalinMcMahon

  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:14 pm
  • Real Name: Galin McMahon

Duplicate clip, not clone clip

PostMon Dec 06, 2021 6:03 am

This is a beyond basic question and it's driving me crazy.

I have a basic fusion comp that I'm using as a template for a series of intros where only the subtitle gets changed. In the Media Pool I duplicate the clip. I don't clone or sync it. I duplicate it. I edit the duplicated clip and leave the original clip alone. But for some reason Resolve makes the edit to BOTH clips. Again, I did not touch the first clip.

How do I turn this "feature" off so that duplicating duplicates instead of clone/sync?
Windows 10
i7+-8750 @2.20GHz
32GB optane RAM
8GB Geforce 1070
500GB NvME main - 1TB Evo 860 SSD scratch
Resolve 17 Studio
Offline
User avatar

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 540
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Duplicate clip, NOT clone clip

PostMon Dec 06, 2021 4:07 pm

Are you making a new fusion clip each time?
The media in and out nodes should be associated with the spot on the timeline that you are trying to affect.
Everything else can be a copy paste of the templates nodes.

If you do this in stand alone fusion you can just make a new saver with a new name, and that should work as well.
Offline

GalinMcMahon

  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:14 pm
  • Real Name: Galin McMahon

Re: Duplicate clip, NOT clone clip

PostMon Dec 06, 2021 5:43 pm

I *think* the problem is that the text that gets changed each video is a compound clip (text + background) that points to the same timeline for each clone of the composite. So if I change it on video 2, it also changes on video 1. I was hoping to be able to use a template without having to rebuild the comp every time. If I were designing this software, duplicate would duplicate everything being duplicated so there would be a duplicated nested timeline, not a reference to the shared original which is a sync, not a duplicate. That's what duplicate means to me.

I could see the way it's being done as a feature but it should be called sync. Not duplicate.
Windows 10
i7+-8750 @2.20GHz
32GB optane RAM
8GB Geforce 1070
500GB NvME main - 1TB Evo 860 SSD scratch
Resolve 17 Studio
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 11386
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Duplicate clip, NOT clone clip

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 7:55 am

moved to Resolve forum

and remove the shouting (all caps)
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1873
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Duplicate clip, not clone clip

PostWed Dec 08, 2021 8:34 am

Hi Galin

Perhaps you can add a simple project export with a single comp (or clip) - where you can describe how you duplicate and not clone the comp, and which parameter in the comp you modify?

If nothing else, users seeing more specific information can check if it is a bug and suggest workarounds.

Regards
Shrinivas

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: elainewijaya, Google [Bot], Igor Riđanović, Majestic-12 [Bot], mkloxsfpv659 and 62 guests