Teranex AV needs a standards converter

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Nick Lavigne

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:36 am
  • Location: Connecticut, USA
  • Real Name: Nick Lavigne

Teranex AV needs a standards converter

PostTue Jan 25, 2022 5:34 am

I was looking to purchase and test a Teranex AV standards converter (deinterlace, upscale, noise) for things like VHS/HDV/umatic, etc. I find it ironic that a standards converter that includes standard definition (what I want) requires a standards converter to make composite & component into sdi in order to get it into the device. I see the UltraStudio 4K Extreme 3 ingesting hardware has composite & component inputs but lacks the hardware based features of the Teranex AV.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Teranex AV needs a standards converter

PostTue Jan 25, 2022 10:21 pm

Older Teranex 3D model included analog inputs, probably available cheap used.
Ryzen 3900X 4.4Ghz
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17.4.1
Windows 11 Pro 21H2
Offline

Nick Lavigne

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:36 am
  • Location: Connecticut, USA
  • Real Name: Nick Lavigne

Re: Teranex AV needs a standards converter

PostWed Jan 26, 2022 1:22 am

Jack Fairley wrote:Older Teranex 3D model included analog inputs, probably available cheap used.

I know as did the 2D. But who's to say that the hardware functions are as good as today's? It's just crazy to me to not include those hookups.
If Blackmagic is reading, a new unit, one with composite/component inputs and a TBC built in, also the latest hardware deinterlace, up/down/cross, noise reduction, etc. Would be amazing and a true swiss army knife, just throw it all in there.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Howard Roll and 7 guests