Converting VHS get flashes

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dickvkn

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2022 11:51 am
  • Real Name: Dick van Kooten

Converting VHS get flashes

PostSat Jul 02, 2022 12:01 pm

Recently I bought the Intensity Shuttle to transfer my old video tapes (VHS) to my computer (Asus I9 with windows 10)
I now run into the following problem: Converting high quality tapes (TDK EHG) is no problem at all, but when I use a lower quality ban ( TDK HG) I get flashes through my image.
In both cases I use the following setting:

Video Output: 625i/50PAL
Analog Video Output Levers : 7.5 (USA)

Video Input:
composite
Analog video output :7.5 (USA)

audio:
Analog Audio Input Levels

conversions:
Input: none
output: none

Does anyone know a solution to this problem.
Thanks in advance for thinking along

Dick
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 14531
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Converting VHS get flashes

PostSun Jul 03, 2022 8:48 am

You may need a TBC (Time Base Corrector).
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 17.4.6 , MacOS 12.3.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

Dickvkn

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2022 11:51 am
  • Real Name: Dick van Kooten

Re: Converting VHS get flashes

PostSun Jul 03, 2022 9:44 am

Thanks for your suggestion, but why do EHG (Extra High Grade) tapes convert well and HG tapes don't.
If I use the same video tapes in a Pinnacles conversion system, it all works fine (with slightly lower quality)
Offline

Dickvkn

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2022 11:51 am
  • Real Name: Dick van Kooten

Re: Converting VHS get flashes

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 8:28 am

I am familiar with TB, but I wonder why an EHC (extra high grade) videotape is converted properly, but an HG tape is not.
If I use another program (e.g. Pinnacle) this does not cause any problems (but a lower quality).
Is there anything to change the settings so that the conversion goes well in both cases?
WHO HAS A SOLUTION?
Online
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1747
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Converting VHS get flashes

PostWed Jul 06, 2022 7:06 pm

Sounds like you need a TBC. Different tools will have different tolerances for drift, and BMD tools have a very low tolerance. That's probably why HG does not work, but EHG does.
Ryzen 3900X 4.4Ghz
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17.4.1
Windows 11 Pro 21H2
Offline

Dickvkn

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2022 11:51 am
  • Real Name: Dick van Kooten

Re: Converting VHS get flashes

PostThu Jul 07, 2022 3:25 pm

Thanks for your comment Jack Fair
I will look for a video recorder with TBC and if that costs too much I will use Pinnacle again, which accepts everything but with a lower quality.
I am an amateur and it must be . considering the cost, we; stay nice.
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 14531
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Converting VHS get flashes

PostThu Jul 07, 2022 5:33 pm

It may not cost you too much to buy a TBC second-hand and sell it again after the project.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 17.4.6 , MacOS 12.3.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mpetech and 17 guests