Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone XLR

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

fkick1985

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:15 pm
  • Real Name: Derek Klein

Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone XLR

PostThu Oct 03, 2019 4:19 pm

Hi,

I've got a new Ultrastudio 4k Mini attached to an iMac Pro over Thunderbolt 3 running Desktop Video 11.4 and Avid 2019.9.

I've set the audio input in Desktop Video to the Microphone and have tried both with and without phantom power (I should have phantom power), but I'm not getting any levels in Avid or FCP X.

Am I missing something?

Thanks!
Offline

Olivier Burri

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 7:15 am
  • Location: Geneva, Switzerland

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostMon Oct 21, 2019 3:33 am

fkick1985 wrote:Hi,


I've set the audio input in Desktop Video to the Microphone and have tried both with and without phantom power (I should have phantom power), but I'm not getting any levels in Avid or FCP X.



Thanks!

Hi Derek,

Same problem here with the Ultrastudio 4K Extreme version. I did plug a Rode NT1 in the front XLR. When I'm trying to patch the imputs on the Fairlight page, Resolve shows no Audio Imputs.

Guess it's the same problem....

As nobody seems to have a clue, I'm gonna try to reach those BMD guys.
Olivier G. Burri
Offline

fkick1985

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:15 pm
  • Real Name: Derek Klein

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostMon Oct 21, 2019 3:40 am

There is an issue apparently with all Blackmagic i/o boxes that requires there to always be a video input signal when capturing audio. This includes when attempting to capture from the Ultrastudio’s Mix XLR jack.

I ended up running a SDI cable between the unit’s SDI out and input jacks, looping it back on itself. As soon as I did I was able to capture audio in avid.

Seems silly to advertise a Mic jack if you need a video signal as well, but it worked.
Offline

Olivier Burri

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 7:15 am
  • Location: Geneva, Switzerland

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostMon Oct 21, 2019 5:19 am

This morning, I did open a ticket on BMD support page.
Waiting for a reply. Keep you posted.
Olivier G. Burri
Offline

Olivier Burri

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 7:15 am
  • Location: Geneva, Switzerland

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostThu Oct 24, 2019 1:07 pm

After 4 days, they just replied you cannot record audio with the Ultrastudio.

So the mic XLR is an useless dud. LOL.

You need to get a cheap Rode Audio Interface Ai-1 and plug your mic. At least, you can record audio. Yes you can!
Olivier G. Burri
Offline

Olivier Burri

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 7:15 am
  • Location: Geneva, Switzerland

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostSun Oct 27, 2019 4:56 pm

Shame. You cannot record audio in Resolve, even with a third party interface!

I plugged an Rode A1i Audio interface, selected the audio input on the Imac Pro. I have NO audio inputs to patch on the Fairlight page.

What is this Fairlight joke? Do I need to go back to Premiere to do an audio punch in?

The 3K+ US$ Ultrastudio 4K Extreme 3 is unable to record audio and it doesn't work with the Rode interface. CMon BMD, this is really "Extreme".
Olivier G. Burri
Offline

Wedelski

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:46 pm
  • Real Name: Paul Wedel

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostSun Mar 08, 2020 11:28 pm

Pretty sure that falls under false advertising?? How does one engage the XLR in the front then? Is it just for show? Thought it was just Adobe that loved dicking around their userbase...
Offline

fkick1985

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:15 pm
  • Real Name: Derek Klein

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostSun Mar 08, 2020 11:31 pm

Wedelski wrote:Pretty sure that falls under false advertising?? How does one engage the XLR in the front then? Is it just for show? Thought it was just Adobe that loved dicking around their userbase...


:D

I've built out two full post houses in the last six months with iMac Pros, and the Ultrastudio Mini's were a solid choice for the bays, with the exception of the XLR input. However, looping the SDI in/out to each other does solve the problem. It's annoying and silly, but it works, and no one has complained about the 6" SDI cable on the back.
Offline

mistermenzi

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:30 pm
  • Warnings: 1
  • Real Name: Christoph Menzi

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostMon Mar 09, 2020 3:25 pm

Very good, but how did you set up the US4KM?

I have 16 entrances but none goes?

Did you help me there? Desperate, can't go?

Audioinput: Microphon
Phantom_ON Red LED

[img][/Users/menzi/Desktop/01_iMac.jpg/img]
Offline

fkick1985

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:15 pm
  • Real Name: Derek Klein

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostMon Mar 09, 2020 3:46 pm

mistermenzi wrote:Very good, but how did you set up the US4KM?

I have 16 entrances but none goes?

Did you help me there? Desperate, can't go?

Audioinput: Microphon
Phantom_ON Red LED

[img][/Users/menzi/Desktop/01_iMac.jpg/img]


Hi Mistermezi, I can't see your image (try uploading as an attachment rather then imbedding?), but you need to turn on the XLR Microphone input in the Blackmagic control panel in system preferences.
Attachments
Remote Desktop Picture March 9, 2020 at 10.45.20 AM CDT.png
Remote Desktop Picture March 9, 2020 at 10.45.20 AM CDT.png (290.12 KiB) Viewed 1383 times
Offline

mistermenzi

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:30 pm
  • Warnings: 1
  • Real Name: Christoph Menzi

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostMon Mar 09, 2020 4:34 pm

Hi Derek,

thank you for helping me.

Here is the picture, I hope.


Image
Offline

fkick1985

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:15 pm
  • Real Name: Derek Klein

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostMon Mar 09, 2020 4:38 pm

mistermenzi wrote:Hi Derek,

thank you for helping me.

Here is the picture, I hope.


Image


Hi, Sorry, I'm not familiar with the Premiere interface (I'm assuming that is Adobe). However, since you're running Catalina, make sure that you have checked the "Security" Preferences and have allowed all the kernel extensions that pop up under "Allow" on the General tab.

You might also want to try disabling Phantom...just as a test. I don't run with it with our Shure handhelds in Avid.
Offline

mistermenzi

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:30 pm
  • Warnings: 1
  • Real Name: Christoph Menzi

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostTue Mar 10, 2020 5:11 pm

Hi,
I checked the kernel, it looks good. I am at a loss, tried a lot, also with Resolve, but unsuccessfully.
I have a choice of 16 audio inputs, but none goes.

Do you work with Avid?

Maybe someone from BMD can help ??? Hi there!

I stay there.

Image
Offline

Florian Gintenreiter

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 9:52 pm

Has this problem been solved?

I looped SDI-A (also tried SDI-B) to SDI-IN on my Ultrastudio 4K mini and I still don't have any signal on an OS level (macOS in my case) or in any other app. "Blackmagic UltraStudio 4K mini" shows up as an audio source but no signal is coming through.
The only software that can actually record audio through that XLR seems to be Blackmagic's own "Media Express"

Cheers

Florian
Offline

Wedelski

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:46 pm
  • Real Name: Paul Wedel

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 9:35 pm

Florian Gintenreiter wrote:Has this problem been solved?

I looped SDI-A (also tried SDI-B) to SDI-IN on my Ultrastudio 4K mini and I still don't have any signal on an OS level (macOS in my case) or in any other app. "Blackmagic UltraStudio 4K mini" shows up as an audio source but no signal is coming through.
The only software that can actually record audio through that XLR seems to be Blackmagic's own "Media Express"

Cheers

Florian


Same here // tried the SDI IN/OUT loop and the XLR still doesn't work. Also, the audio out is super glitchy. Pretty much can't use any of the audio tools as advertised. Kind of disappointing. Will have to be firmware update I suppose. Though with the whole virus thing, guess we'll wait til next year. Love and calm to everyone! X
Offline

Florian Gintenreiter

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 5:41 pm

Audio out works flawlessly on my side.
Offline

Steve Fishwick

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:35 am

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostSat Mar 21, 2020 12:14 pm

I feed a Pal B&B SD signal to both composite in and ref in, on the Ultrastudio 4K mini and it works flawlessly with Avid, nothing in BMD Resolve. I was looping SDI i/o and that worked but there was no confidence monitoring within Avid. This works even in HD and 4K projects, you just have to set the input as composite video and the mic audio obviously.
Offline

mistermenzi

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:30 pm
  • Warnings: 1
  • Real Name: Christoph Menzi

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostMon Mar 30, 2020 7:29 pm

Many thanks for your help.

I gave up and use my microphone with a USB sound card, it works perfectly.

Let's hope for the next update.

regards
Offline

Florian Gintenreiter

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostSat Apr 04, 2020 12:13 pm

I gave up, too and use my Zoom H5N as an USB audio interface. Works flawlessly, but not in Resolve.

*sigh*
Offline

JaphetDeOliveira

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 3:21 am
  • Real Name: Japhet De Oliveira

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostWed May 20, 2020 2:36 pm

I just bought the Ultrastudio 4k Mini and the BMC6k.

1. Only way I can capture sound is via Sennheiser wireless mini xlr direct into the camera. That feed comes through HDMI to the 4K Mini.

2. I tried the XLR on the front from the Sennheiser base and nothing appears on the monitor.

3. Is there anyway to get the XLR input at the front to work instead of the camera feed?
Offline

Steve Fishwick

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:35 am

Re: Ultrastudio 4k Mini - No Audio Capture from Microphone X

PostTue May 26, 2020 8:04 am

JaphetDeOliveira wrote:3. Is there anyway to get the XLR input at the front to work instead of the camera feed?


Currently not with DaVinci Resolve. The only programme I know of that can use it is Avid Media Composer and then you need to either loop SDI in to out or feed an external ref video signal in. For Resolve and Fairlight I have a basic Presonus audio interface that works well with a Sound Devices 302 mixer but I have to use Hifi Asio Bridge to get the Ultrastudio output working with the audio interface inputs, at the same time, i.e. you cannot use the decklink output directly with a windows audio interface. Mac core audio maybe different.

It's a shame because I can tell you that both the XLR mic preamp and 1/4" inputs on the US 4K mini seem to be very high quality within Avid.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests