Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

ajzapf

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:44 pm
  • Location: Oceanside California
  • Real Name: John Zapf

Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

PostSat May 16, 2020 11:31 pm

Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

I have a high end AXIS camera on a hummingbird nest 24/7. its only records in mkv format. I want to edit these files in Davinci but it doesn't recognize them. So obviously I have to convert them :(. So looking for any advise on doing this the easiest way and without losing any quality at all.

Thanks
DAD • IT Pro • Photographer
Win10 Pro x64, Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Studio One, etc.
Dell R7910 2x Xeon E5-2690 2.6GHz, 24-Core total, 48GB DDR4 RAM
Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 Super Turbo
PERC H730P 2-Samsung 1TB 860 Pro, RAID 0 for Speed
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6839
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

PostSun May 17, 2020 2:59 am

MKV is just a container. If the codec inside of it is anything known to Resolve, you'll just need to re-wrap.
That will be fast and lossless. Try Shutter Encoder (free).
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline
User avatar

ajzapf

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:44 pm
  • Location: Oceanside California
  • Real Name: John Zapf

Re: Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

PostSun May 17, 2020 3:33 pm

Well so fare so good. I like Shutter Encoder. I thought it was a little large (130mb) and Windows did put up a warning about running it. But it works good, easy and fast.

I was using HandBrack but this is must faster and its not re-rendering it at all.

Thanks, John
DAD • IT Pro • Photographer
Win10 Pro x64, Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Studio One, etc.
Dell R7910 2x Xeon E5-2690 2.6GHz, 24-Core total, 48GB DDR4 RAM
Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 Super Turbo
PERC H730P 2-Samsung 1TB 860 Pro, RAID 0 for Speed
Offline
User avatar

Dmitry Shijan

  • Posts: 1357
  • Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:15 pm
  • Location: UA

Re: Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

PostSun May 17, 2020 10:31 pm

All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
Offline
User avatar

ajzapf

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:44 pm
  • Location: Oceanside California
  • Real Name: John Zapf

Re: Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

PostSun May 17, 2020 10:38 pm

I am on a Windows PC, But thanks.
DAD • IT Pro • Photographer
Win10 Pro x64, Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Studio One, etc.
Dell R7910 2x Xeon E5-2690 2.6GHz, 24-Core total, 48GB DDR4 RAM
Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 Super Turbo
PERC H730P 2-Samsung 1TB 860 Pro, RAID 0 for Speed
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 1412
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

PostMon May 18, 2020 11:51 pm

Also, have a look at Shutter Encoder. You'll find it here.

https://www.shutterencoder.com/en/
Resolve 16.2.2.012 (free)
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (442.92 Studio driver), Win 10 Home-18362, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win 7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, 3 Screens
Offline
User avatar

ajzapf

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:44 pm
  • Location: Oceanside California
  • Real Name: John Zapf

Re: Does anyone have a workflow for Importing MKV files?

PostWed May 20, 2020 1:40 am

Thanks, Uli suggested that also and I like it.

John
DAD • IT Pro • Photographer
Win10 Pro x64, Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Studio One, etc.
Dell R7910 2x Xeon E5-2690 2.6GHz, 24-Core total, 48GB DDR4 RAM
Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 Super Turbo
PERC H730P 2-Samsung 1TB 860 Pro, RAID 0 for Speed

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests