Transferring PAL tape

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

kennyholl

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 11:34 pm
  • Real Name: Kenny Holl

Transferring PAL tape

PostThu Jun 04, 2020 11:40 pm

I am in the US. I have a friend who has a PAL tape (VHS) that he would like digitized to an mp4 file. Can I use a regular American NTSC VHS player, plugged into the Blackmagic H.264 ProRecorder, and output it to my computer? Or is it necessary to get a VHS player that can specifically playback a PAL tape? (I suspect the latter, but I'm hoping for the former...)
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6761
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Transferring PAL tape

PostSat Jun 06, 2020 11:22 pm

kennyholl wrote:Or is it necessary to get a VHS player that can specifically playback a PAL tape? (I suspect the latter, but I'm hoping for the former...)

You have to have a PAL VHS deck. The heads and linear speed actually are at a different rate than with NTSC speeds (50Hz vs. 60Hz).
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 7058
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Transferring PAL tape

PostSun Jun 07, 2020 2:58 am

There were some "World" models with universal compatibility.
They were more popular outside of the US, though.
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests