Color Suite Set Up Question

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

DirectedByMarvin

  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:45 pm
  • Real Name: Marvin Nuecklaus

Color Suite Set Up Question

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 5:34 am

Hey everyone,
I'm in the process of setting up a color suite at our new studio.
While going through Alex's color correction handbook and the resolve manual, I still got a few questions.

We're running an LG OLED C9 as the client monitor and an Asus Pro Art 32UCX as the reference monitor.
Since the manual suggest to not use the GUI viewer as your reference, I just purchased the Blackmagic Ultra Studio Mini 4K.

Now, my question is whether it is suggested to hook up the LG client monitor to the I/O box or my Asus Reference monitor?
While the LG OLED takes callibration luts, I haven't found a way to load them into my Asus Pro Art.
Is there a way to load a callibration LUT into the Ultra Studio 4K Mini or would I need to add a LUT box in the chain (if even possible)? I would like to avoid loading a callibration LUT into Resolve everytime I start a new project.
Would love to hear some suggestions and thank you in advance!
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6750
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Color Suite Set Up Question

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 9:59 am

The LG would be your "hero" display, and it needs to be calibrated to a known standard like Rec709. Once it's calibrated, you'd hook it up to the Blackmagic UltraStudio and you'd set Resolve to use that as the main viewer. If you're trying to use an Asus monitor and the LG, then I'd get an HDMI splitter and watch both from the Blackmagic UltraStudio output. Note that you'll need a calibration engineer to set the "perceptual match" between the LG and the Asus, because they're different types of displays and will not look exactly the same even when calibrated.

All your GUI displays (for the software itself) would come directly from the computer. Note those are not color managed.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

DirectedByMarvin

  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:45 pm
  • Real Name: Marvin Nuecklaus

Re: Color Suite Set Up Question

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 5:26 pm

Thank you as always Marc! That's what I thought after reading articles about that topic.
I guess what I can't wrap my head around is that I have this $4000 monitor sitting here that fully covers every color space including HDR and I'm using it as my GUI Viewer instead of color managing that one over the LG OLED.
In high end studio set ups, do they use HDMI splitters or SDI Mixers and send out the signal from the I/O box to their reference monitor as well as client monitor/projector?

This Ultra Studio 4K Mini is pretty new to me. Is there a way to load the calibration LUT into that I/O? Are there any advantages having the calibration LUT loaded in hardware vs Software?

Also, I'm experiencing a delay on my reference monitor. It's lacking around 5-10frames. I would love to use this as my full screen viewer while editing as well. Does anyone have the same issue?

Currently the Ultra Studio Mini 4K is connected through TB3 from my iMac Pro which then goes straight to my Asus Pro Art per HDMI. The viewer on my iMac plays back fine. Timeline resolution matches the one displayed on my Studio Mini.
Offline

jerrygladh

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:54 am
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Color Suite Set Up Question

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 10:34 am

Maybe a little strange question (Marc) but...

Working with old Ultrastudio 4K and Eizo318 as reference monitor, great setup.
Is it possible to add the new Ultrastudio 4k mini to the setup for a second proper HDMI output?

Jerry
DR Studio 16.2.3 | MacOs 10.15.4
Mac Pro 2019 | 16-core | 192 GB Ram | 580X, 2x Radeon VII
BM G2 | G1 | P4k | Ultrastudio 4k | Eizo CG:s | Atem Mini Pro
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1410
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Color Suite Set Up Question

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 5:51 pm

No, you can only use one output device, though some output devices have multiple ports. It's common in more expensive setups for things to be running through a small SDI router.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 16.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline

DirectedByMarvin

  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:45 pm
  • Real Name: Marvin Nuecklaus

Re: Color Suite Set Up Question

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 6:11 pm

So if I was trying to set up my Asus Pro Art to let's say HDR while my OLED LG client monitor is set to Rec 709, I would need to run an SDI router and then adapt SDI on both ends for each device ?
Thought I saw a diagram in some BMD manual but can't remember which one it was.

Just trying to understand the basics here as it still didn't click after going through the Resolve manual and various color suite articles.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1410
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Color Suite Set Up Question

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 6:14 pm

No, it's just more common in a high end scenario that everything will be over SDI in the first place. If you want to run different color spaces + gamuts on different monitors, you're going to need to get your monitoring signal chain set up for that, which I think is covered in the manual, and may not be possible with your device. If you just want Rec. 709, an HDMI splitter would suffice.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 16.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline

DirectedByMarvin

  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:45 pm
  • Real Name: Marvin Nuecklaus

Re: Color Suite Set Up Question

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 7:52 pm

Gotcha, thanks a lot for the clarification!
So in a high end scenario when working in the same color space, would you connect your reference monitor and client monitor/projector to an i/o device by using an HDMI splitter and then set the perceptual match between both devices?
Really what I'm trying to figure out is how to make best use of my Asus Pro Art monitor to make it worth its investment.
Had to switch to instant Ramen for a month to fit that bad boy into the budget.
Offline

Simon Maxwell

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 8:47 am
  • Real Name: Simon Williamson

Re: Color Suite Set Up Question

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 7:57 pm

Marc Wielage wrote: If you're trying to use an Asus monitor and the LG, then I'd get an HDMI splitter and watch both from the Blackmagic UltraStudio output.
.


Just a regular HDMI splitter that mirrors the signal across 2 outputs? Been debating this one myself.

Cheers
http://storyboardvisuals.co.uk

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: misterk and 10 guests