Egpu help

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Blbfilms

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:16 pm
  • Real Name: Brandon Boulay

Egpu help

PostSat Oct 10, 2020 10:23 pm

There have been a few posts about egpus. I am looking for a little 101 in regards to resolve.

Questions.
Expectations of a internal 16gb iMac gpu and a Egpu of same caliber VS all internal gpu (pc)

Do I need to run a second monitor to “activate” the egpu?

Basically I am comparing a fully built iMac with max128 ram and card with egpu with 16gb ram VS a PC of similar build with a 3090. Can’t find the sweet spot on the Mac for a reasonable price. Not having pro-res export is my biggest hang up. Anyone have a work around (exporting master file in resolve then versioning in premiere?).

Having a very hard time pulling the PC trigger as I’ve been Mac based for 15 years.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 7762
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Egpu help

PostMon Oct 12, 2020 3:00 pm

1. Never buy RAM from Apple. AFAIK, you can still put third-party RAM into an iMac by yourself.
1a Do you really need that much RAM?
2. An eGPU will run without a monitor plugged in. It has no RAM, that is VRAM.
3. VRAM doesn't add up, so if you need more VRAM, go for the 3090 in a PC.
4. You can have ProRes export on the PC from Fusion.
Resolve Studio 16.2.7 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1489
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Egpu help

PostTue Oct 13, 2020 5:53 pm

There is no sweet spot on a Mac for a reasonable price, if you're comparing to PC, especially given the imminent release of Zen 3/RDNA2, and increased availability of Ampere cards. Lack of ProRes export is not a big deal, DNxHR/Cineform are perfectly adequate, or arguably better, as intermediate codecs, and you can export ProRes from Adobe products, or from something like Assimilate Scratch.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 16.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests