apple prores for windos

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ahmed Jameel

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 9:28 pm
  • Real Name: Ahmed Jameel

apple prores for windos

PostSat Feb 06, 2021 9:34 pm

I have downloaded davinci resolev16 for windows and i wanted to Transcode to apple prores codec but But I did not find it in codec Options!!
Attachments
بدون عنوان.png
بدون عنوان.png (35.28 KiB) Viewed 729 times
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9857
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: apple prores for windos

PostTue Feb 09, 2021 2:30 am

Wrong system, you need MacOS ;-)

Seriously, there is no ProRes yet in Resolve for Windows. Your cheapest option are tools like Shutter Encoder, which are based on ffmpeg. ProRes is reverse engineered in that case and not Apple-blessed. The cheapest tool which is acknowledged by Apple is Kyno, AFAIK. If you don't need that regularly, a single month rental of the Adobe stuff might be another solution.

But do you desperately need ProRes? Cineform or DNxHD/HR is of comparable size and quality.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

Pete Berthet

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:00 am

Re: apple prores for windos

PostTue Feb 09, 2021 4:27 am

I regularly use TENcoder on windows to convert to prores if it's a delivery requirement.

It does a decent job and it's free.

https://www.videohelp.com/software/TEncoder
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9857
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: apple prores for windos

PostTue Feb 09, 2021 3:38 pm

All the free tools are ffmpeg based.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

xchrisx

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2019 3:00 pm
  • Location: Hungary
  • Real Name: Chris Nowell

Re: apple prores for windos

PostWed Feb 17, 2021 9:27 am

Blackmagic should have answer to this, is Prores export for Windows in progress? Or does it ever come, if so when?

It is a must have export codec.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7331
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: apple prores for windos

PostWed Feb 17, 2021 2:50 pm

It's not technical problem- they can have it done in no time.
It's 'political' problem also related to licensing terms with Apple. I don't think you will see it any time soon in free version for sure. In paid, maybe 1 day.
Offline

steve_martin_usa

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 1:36 pm
  • Real Name: Steve Martin

Re: apple prores for windos

PostTue Mar 30, 2021 1:34 am

I was surprised to see that Apple TV is now available on Sony and other devices. It's about the only thing I've seen Apple do where they don't require you to buy their stuff. They only do that when they know they can't get users to switch. Seriously, why do we need Prores on Windows?
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.1 build 24

Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Acer ConceptD 7 Ezel (CC715-71)
32GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 with Max-Q Design
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7331
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: apple prores for windos

PostFri Apr 02, 2021 10:47 pm

If you don't need it then forget about it and use alternatives, eg. DNxHR.
Many people can't forget it as clients ask for ProRes as they preferred delivery option in eg. 70% cases. Some only accept ProRes as it's seen as trouble free codec. This is not always true for other codecs, as no one really overlooks their implementations. Apple won't let you release software with official ProRes support unless it meets their requirements. This is good thing about ProRes. If an app has official ProRes support you have quite big confidence using it.
DNxHR for example has new problems (if not one thing then another) about every other Resolve update :)
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1087
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: apple prores for windos

PostFri Apr 02, 2021 11:40 pm

steve_martin_usa wrote:I was surprised to see that Apple TV is now available on Sony and other devices. It's about the only thing I've seen Apple do where they don't require you to buy their stuff. They only do that when they know they can't get users to switch. Seriously, why do we need Prores on Windows?


They did it before with Itunes. It's called expanding the market. Especially where content is involved It needs a mass market to become viable.


Ricardo Marty
Resolve Studio 17, Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram, 512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite ableton
Offline

steve_martin_usa

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 1:36 pm
  • Real Name: Steve Martin

Re: apple prores for windos

PostMon Apr 05, 2021 1:21 pm

Someone else pointed out that customers sometimes want their footage in Prores, and that they are working on teams with multiple people, so it's not as easy as using another codec. Good points.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.1 build 24

Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Acer ConceptD 7 Ezel (CC715-71)
32GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 with Max-Q Design
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 1087
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: apple prores for windos

PostMon Apr 05, 2021 6:33 pm

steve_martin_usa wrote:Someone else pointed out that customers sometimes want their footage in Prores, and that they are working on teams with multiple people, so it's not as easy as using another codec. Good points.


Yes. so they should use what their team uses. If it means another NLE then that's the way to go.

Ricardo Marty
Resolve Studio 17, Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processor, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6Gb, 16Gb ram, 512 nvme sd. Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600. Focusrite ableton
Offline

ejpontius

  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:17 pm

Re: apple prores for windos

PostTue Apr 06, 2021 1:44 pm

There are obviously cost and political reason why it is isn't included.
Adobe recently added ProRes encoding to their windows version of Media Encoder.
I typically output Avid DNxHR and then transcode to ProRes using Media Encoder.

Plenty of people have also been using separate Mac Mini's that serve almost no other purpose but to transcode to ProRes.
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9857
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: apple prores for windos

PostTue Apr 06, 2021 2:29 pm

If it's one of the new M1 Mac minis they can also be used to transcode source footage in H.264/265 (nearly all flavours in the free version) to an easier codec. They are very fast for this.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests