Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2217
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostWed Mar 03, 2021 4:38 pm

With the many improvements Resolve 16 and now 17 has made to run faster, better, and leaner do we really need the fastest and very expensive graphics cards on the market? What if you're max timeline resolution and delivery is 4K DCI and you're just cutting and coloring, very little compositing in Fusion?
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 2448
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 1:09 am

I'm using a RX580 8gb GPU and it's been ok for most HD work. Resolve 17 is slightly more demanding on my system compared to Resolve 16.
Resolve 16.2.6 AND Resolve 17.1.1
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
Decklink Studio 2, FSI LM1770 Monitor
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10093
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 3:45 am

It's DR that profits most from VRAM, not Fusion (which loves lots of CPU RAM).
You may get away with an AMD card with 8 GB VRAM for 4K, but for Nvidia, get more.
BTW, 4K means Studio, the free version only does UHD.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9988
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 10:10 am

A lot of the new tools use very extensive calculations and a lot of VRAM.
if you are simply grading HD, primary, secondaries, windows etc, much less demands.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2217
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 3:29 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:A lot of the new tools use very extensive calculations and a lot of VRAM.
if you are simply grading HD, primary, secondaries, windows etc, much less demands.

So for Resolve, lots of VRAM and not all the other benchmarks we usually look at on GPU gaming cards that is important. Is there a ceiling to how much VRAM Resolve can use before there it scales off?
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Online

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7358
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostThu Mar 04, 2021 3:59 pm

I think it works slightly different (same as with CPU RAM).
If for given task you have enough VRAM then this is all what you need. If task works on card with 8GB VRAM then it will work the same way (maybe slightly faster) and same card model with 16GB of VRAM.
It's all about knowing particular system limits. Main driver is project resolution and then nature of the task. Any process which is time dependent (temporal), like noise reduction, blur etc. will use a lot of VRAM (as many frames needs to be accessible at the same time). Spatial tasks are less VRAM hungry, so scaling etc. should not be a problem.
I assume if you work with HD only then 8GB (o maybe even less) should be never a problem. This may not be be the case for UHD projects. Not sure if BM provides any guidance based on at least project resolution ( I think it's in manual).

If you look here then it seems to confirm my thinking. Given model provides about same performance- more VRAM has impact, but gain is not that big. Actually there is probably no direct gain at all and difference comes from the fact that typically cards with more VRAM use faster ram and this what really gives you more performance.
https://www.pugetsystems.com/recommende ... mendations

Puget recommends:
Code: Select all
Timeline Resolution     1080p   4K    6K/8K
Minimum VRAM capacity   4GB    8GB    20GB+
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8652
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostMon Mar 08, 2021 3:14 am

A lots of “it depends”: i still have 1080ti at home (2) and in some box at work titanX...

Built I dont do fusion, mostly just color....
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1544
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostMon Mar 08, 2021 7:03 am

For HD, definitely not. At 4K and above some of the more demanding tools were getting pretty slow on my 1080 Ti, and I would sometimes tap out the 11GB VRAM. With the 3090 I can do more or less whatever I want. It's frequently not necessary, especially if they did everything right during the production, but it saves time every now and then. Whether or not that's worth the price of admission is up to you.
Ryzen 3900X 4.4Ghz
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17
Windows 10 Pro 2004
Online

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7358
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostMon Mar 08, 2021 10:17 am

In case of 1080Ti and 3090 in Resolve you are comparing processing power not amount of VRAM. They are technologically different and 3090 is faster for sure just by pure fact that it has almost 3x CUDA cores.
I don’t use Resolve much, numbers are Puget’s. I also think 4 GB for HD may not cover every possible project, but it gives some idea.
You want to compare same model with eg. 8GB and 12.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8652
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostTue Mar 09, 2021 1:26 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:In case of 1080Ti and 3090 in Resolve you are comparing processing power not amount of VRAM. They are technologically different and 3090 is faster for sure just by pure fact that it has almost 3x CUDA cores.
I don’t use Resolve much, numbers are Puget’s. I also think 4 GB for HD may not cover every possible project, but it gives some idea.
You want to compare same model with eg. 8GB and 12.


Agreed, but the question probably is: having a decent card (like an 1080ti) does it make sense to get a 3090 right now if i can actually work with it without compromises?

Of course a 3090 is better, but the difference on my box at home will be negligeable and it is money saved....
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Online

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 7358
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Do we really need the latest and fastest GPU these days?

PostSun Mar 14, 2021 7:11 pm

Yes, but Ellory Yu question was about VRAM: if more of it means faster system (and when things saturate). It's not the case. Once you have enough for given project then more won't make it always faster. It can as quite often more VRAM means faster version, so you gain based on VRAM speed, not because you have 2x of it.
It's the same with CPU RAM. You either have enough or not. Once you have enough you see no gain for given task (but you can run "bigger" tasks).

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests