Built-in hardware calibration Question

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author

cstn40

Built-in hardware calibration Question

PostSat Jan 08, 2022 6:04 pm

I’m trying to understand Monitors-Color Calibration with “Built-in” Hardware calibration colorimeters. I have a new Dell UP3221Q monitor which has a “Calman Powered” built-in colorimeter. I’m sure it all works as intended but I am new to the built-in colorimeter world, and I can’t seem to figure out how to have any confidence with the built-in calibration. I have the monitor connected to a 2019 Mac Pro.

This monitor calibrates to Its own internal hardware / software. In other words, it can calibrate without being connected to any computer. I know the Mac/gpu has some influence to the color profile via Colorsync, so my question is, How does the monitor — when calibrating— take in to account any color influence that comes out of the Mac/GPU when the calibration process does not include the display output of the Mac Pro/GPU ? P.S. no one at Dell has been able to answer this question.

From what I can tell, the monitor does not report back to the Mac any LUT/profile once it has run through the calibration process. In the old days, I’d use an external colorimeter, which took into account the Mac/ LUT/Colorsync profile, so you adjusted for the entire image display path. —Uggg what am I missing

Any help would be very (very) much appreciated.

Thanks
Craig

Kaannn

Re: Built-in hardware calibration Question

PostSat Jan 08, 2022 7:29 pm