QNAP NAS Question

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author

danielpanev

QNAP NAS Question

PostSat Aug 13, 2022 11:06 am

Hi all,

I am by no means a professional videographer, but still as a hobbyist I have the following question:
For my home network I'm looking to add a NAS for general purpose (backups and so on) and a place to store my raw video. Currently looking at https://www.qnap.com/en/product/ts-473a/specs/hardware
My question is (just an example): Is it possible to assign drive bays 1-2 to network port 1 and drive bays 3-4 to network port 2? The idea is to have all my raw video stored on drives 1-2 and my kids' data (you know - movies, music and so on) stored on drives 3-4... If it matters - I have 2 physically separated networks: for my kids and for myself, so I can easily connect "their" network to port 2 and "my" network to port 1 on the NAS.

Helge Tjelta

Re: QNAP NAS Question

PostSat Aug 13, 2022 1:04 pm

Normally not.

but since you have two physical ports...

Make 2 logical drives (storage pools) and those use only 1-2 and 3-4 drives...

Then tell the kids to only use one of them...
and you the other

mpetech

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 3:40 pm

Helge Tjelta wrote:Normally not.

but since you have two physical ports...

Make 2 logical drives (storage pools) and those use only 1-2 and 3-4 drives...

Then tell the kids to only use one of them...
and you the other

This.

Creating two storage pools and a respective shared folder in each achieves similar results - drive traffic is limited and sent to a specific network port.

Though 2 drive RAID may not perform that well for Resolve use.

Nick Lavigne

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 6:54 pm