Newbie Q about UltraStudio 4k Mini to Sony OLED TV

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author

JonasSiljan

Newbie Q about UltraStudio 4k Mini to Sony OLED TV

PostSun Feb 25, 2024 5:26 pm

Hi all, I'm fairly new to Davinci Resolve Pro but with a soon to come move I want to upgrade my editing/colour correction options and I am a little confused as to which solution I need and hope for some friendly advice for a newbie wanting to get the right things the first time :)

My goal is to use our coming "movie room & home office" space to use a Sony 77" OLED XR-77A80K ( sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-oled-tvs-android-/xr-77a80k/specifications) as the client review & colour correction & grading screen.

In order to use the Sony TV as a separate monitor/screen, I can obviously connect it via an HDMI cable straight from the MacBook Pro but I understand this is then affecting the video output by whatever macOS wants to do or is set to, and that the more "correct way" to do it is to use something like the Blackmagic Design UltraStudio 4K Mini - is that the right assumption? I understand there are much simpler, smaller devices (HDMI Monitor 3G) but those would not output 4K as far as I understand. I really appreciate the feedback so thanks in advance.

Here's the gear otherwise available/I use in case it matters to any of this:

Software: Davinci Resolve Studio
Hardware:
- MacBook Pro M1 Pro (soon M3 Pro or Max?)
- recording on Panasonic EVA-1 (using Atomos NINJA V) and Canon R6 Mark 2

Thanks & best regards from Sweden,
Jonas
Resolve Studio | macOS | Capture One (photo work)
MacBook M1 Pro, 16GB RAM
Canon R6 M2 | Panasonic EVA-1 | iPhone 15 Pro Max
BM Speed Editor | Atomos Ninja V | Rode Wireless Go 2 | Rode NTG-2

Uli Plank

Re: Newbie Q about UltraStudio 4k Mini to Sony OLED TV

PostTue Feb 27, 2024 1:53 am