Market Saturation for Colorists

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author

Ryan Nguyen

Market Saturation for Colorists

PostWed Oct 24, 2012 1:59 pm

Hey folks,

I'm looking for future projections and opinions about colorists. I know much of it has to do with where you are, but can it be safely assumed that as it becomes more available, prosumers that begin to shoot with log profiles and raw data will be bring about a spike in interest for professional colorists?

For those who are already established colorists, what kind of clients do you find yourself working with the most? How is the market today for us?

I'm currently studying the craft (2 years) and am being discouraged from many people who worry that color is a very esoteric career choice.

Thanks!

Radman

Re: Market Saturation for Colorists

PostMon Nov 05, 2012 7:21 pm

Interesting post.
I hope there will be more views on this subject.
Radman.

are_luke

PostTue Nov 06, 2012 8:23 pm

Just remember coloring is whatever you make it

Christine Peterson

PostTue Nov 06, 2012 9:04 pm

Moving this thread to Post Production. Interesting topic... it might get more conversation here.
Christine Peterson

(Previously Community Relations Manager for Blackmagic Design)

Paul Provost

PostTue Nov 06, 2012 9:48 pm

i hope this doesn't turn into another "demise of the post industry" threads...
Paul Provost - colorist
Twitter: @4kfinish
www.4kfinish.com

Warren Eagles

PostWed Nov 07, 2012 1:22 am

I am seeing lots of change....Big traditional post houses having to scale down, smaller grading shops opening, DPs grading their own material and editors putting Editor/Colorist on their biz cards.
The good thing is more TV shows, TVCs, and short films than ever before are getting color corrected with grading software, not just the FCP 3 way.
Staff jobs have all but disappeared as we move to a more freelance environment.