how to add blur to a window key

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Claudio Sepulveda

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am

how to add blur to a window key

PostSat Aug 25, 2012 12:21 am

Hi Guys

would love to be able to add blur to the key of a power window.

sometimes softness in not enough to have a soft effect, especially if you are drawing a shape with sharp edges in tight corners and narrow softness

Lustre can do this, blur the key of a shape plus softness, sometimes a blur of the key looks nicer than softness, even with zero softness

I've tried combining nodes, keymixer,etc but can't make it work

would be nice to be ale to do this

thanks in advance
Offline

Mann

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:06 pm

Re: how to add blur to a window key

PostSat Aug 25, 2012 8:06 pm

Hi Claudio,
Ok you can blur the "fill" and you can adjust the strength of the key to vary the effect. You can add softness of course, to the edges. But I do not understand ...you want to blur the key.....it's a key ....whats to blur?
Regards.
Jim Mann
Offline

Claudio Sepulveda

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am

Re: how to add blur to a window key

PostSat Aug 25, 2012 8:59 pm

Hi Jim

Thanks for the response , sorry if my post sounds a bit confusing , I don't want to blur the image itself, if I put a circular window, I don't want to blur the inside nor the outside of the image.

when you create a secondary isolation lets say the red of a flower, you can add blur to the key that you just pulled , so when you hit highlight and the picture goes grey to show you the area isolated you can see the blur effect on the edges for a cleaner key, so softness and blur and 2 controls to help you create a nice isolation

When creating a power window, and you hit highlight and the picture goes black and white to show you the shape, you can soften the edge of the shape but you can't then blur the key created by the shape,

In other words would be nice to be able to have softness and blur on a power window key, just how you can have this when performing a secondary isolation .

Lustre has this feature, softness and blur to a window
Offline
User avatar

Tashi Trieu

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:19 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: how to add blur to a window key

PostSat Aug 25, 2012 10:39 pm

Lustre's "blur" is a gaussian blur applied on the rendered matte channel. This is extremely advantageous when dealing with small, complex shapes where a softness envelope would clip over itself.

+1, would love this feature in Resolve, even though it's GPU intensive.
Tashi Trieu
www.tashitrieu.com
Colorist • Workflow Engineer
Los Angeles, CA
Offline
User avatar

Dimitrios Papagiannis

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:49 am
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: how to add blur to a window key

PostSat Aug 25, 2012 11:34 pm

Yes I agree with the idea of adding a blur function to window keys. Gaussian is much more organic and deals with corners much better.
Offline
User avatar

Tashi Trieu

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:19 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: how to add blur to a window key

PostSat Aug 25, 2012 11:39 pm

In the interim, does anyone have any clever practices or methods for dealing with softness clipping, particularly on the inside of a shape?
Tashi Trieu
www.tashitrieu.com
Colorist • Workflow Engineer
Los Angeles, CA
Offline

Mann

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:06 pm

Re: how to add blur to a window key

PostSun Aug 26, 2012 2:17 am

Sorry if I was slow on the take up...is this what you are looking for.
Jim Mann
Attachments
blur.jpg
blur.jpg (263.76 KiB) Viewed 5968 times
Offline
User avatar

Tashi Trieu

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:19 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: how to add blur to a window key

PostSun Aug 26, 2012 2:19 am

He's talking about a blur that can be applied to power windows, not keys.
Tashi Trieu
www.tashitrieu.com
Colorist • Workflow Engineer
Los Angeles, CA
Offline
User avatar

Tashi Trieu

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:19 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: how to add blur to a window key

PostSun Aug 26, 2012 5:01 am

Jim's on the right track.

Draw your mask in one node, add another serial node and connect it's mask input to the mask output of the first node. In the key controls of the second node, invert the key input, increase Blur Radius to accomplish the same effect as using Blur in Lustre.

Only problem here is that Blur Radius has a max limit of 1.0. If that constraint was released, we'd be in business.
Attachments
blurMatte.png
blurMatte.png (624.47 KiB) Viewed 5964 times
Tashi Trieu
www.tashitrieu.com
Colorist • Workflow Engineer
Los Angeles, CA

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blaked13, Rogurt and 12 guests