Resolve Viewer Question?

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dqford

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:01 pm

Resolve Viewer Question?

PostSun Dec 09, 2012 5:23 pm

If I view my footage from the viewer window on my GUI, is it still accurate? I have a Sony PVM that I use as my reference monitor now, but what if I used it as my GUI too?

This may sound strange, but I actually prefer to have my GUI and Reference monitor as one. I don't like looking back and forth between two separate monitors. It's too hard on my eyes because my eyes have to adjust to each monitor separately.
Offline
User avatar

Elliott Balsley

  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:45 pm
  • Location: Southern California

Re: Resolve Viewer Question?

PostSun Dec 09, 2012 9:04 pm

How do you propose to hook that up? This sounds like a very bad idea to me.
Elliott C. Balsley
DIT, Colorist, Cinematographer
www.llamafilm.com
Offline

dqford

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Resolve Viewer Question?

PostMon Dec 10, 2012 4:25 am

Simple, I would just use HDMI from my RMBP to the PVM.

Why is it a bad idea?
Offline
User avatar

Elliott Balsley

  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:45 pm
  • Location: Southern California

Re: Resolve Viewer Question?

PostWed Dec 12, 2012 5:27 pm

Because that HDMI output is affected by the OS, ColorSync, and I think it's an RGB color space. Basically, it's not designed to be a true color-accurate signal. The proper way to connect an HDMI monitor is an Ultrastudio or Intensity, as you probably already know. Doing what you say, and calibrating the system's ColorSync profile would certainly be better than a lot of Resolve Lite users out there, who don't even have a grading monitor, but it's not ideal. I hope someone else can chime in with a more technical explanation, but that's my understanding.
Elliott C. Balsley
DIT, Colorist, Cinematographer
www.llamafilm.com
Offline

dqford

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Resolve Viewer Question?

PostThu Dec 13, 2012 2:25 am

In that case, I would just connect to it via my Ultra Studio Express via SDI...

My issue isn't with peripherals, I have plenty of that. My issue is just with using two separate screens. I hate looking back and forth from screen to screen... I just don't like it.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests