Cutting a clip for different CG

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Alessio Vasarin

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:20 am

Cutting a clip for different CG

PostThu Aug 30, 2012 4:44 am

Hi everyone,
I'm working with Davinci Resolve for the colograding of a short film.
I have a 2 min. scene, one single take. The actor is moving in different location at the same time, so when I colorcorrect for one ambient, this correction doesn't work for the other ambient. So I used the "razor instrument" as in premiere pro, but even if the clip is cutted in two, the colorgrading is applied to both. Is there a way to resolve this issue?
I think that something like will allow us to use power window in a proper way. I mean, there are circumstances when somebody moves quickly in the scene and you need a PW just for few seconds. and if you can split a clip and colorgrade a single segment individually with whatever you need, it would be fantastic.

I hope that everything is understandable ;)
Canon 5dMK2
Blackmagic Pocket CC
Nikon glasses
www.frabiatofilm.com
Offline

Alessio Vasarin

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:20 am

Re: Cutting a clip for different CG

PostThu Aug 30, 2012 5:49 am

I found in the Davinci manual in the chapter "Gallery and grade management" something called "Differentiating Clips with Different Versions". Can it be the right answer for my issue?
Canon 5dMK2
Blackmagic Pocket CC
Nikon glasses
www.frabiatofilm.com
Offline

Francis

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Cutting a clip for different CG

PostThu Aug 30, 2012 12:21 pm

Alessio Vasarin wrote:Hi everyone,
I'm working with Davinci Resolve for the colograding of a short film.
I have a 2 min. scene, one single take. The actor is moving in different location at the same time, so when I colorcorrect for one ambient, this correction doesn't work for the other ambient. So I used the "razor instrument" as in premiere pro, but even if the clip is cutted in two, the colorgrading is applied to both. Is there a way to resolve this issue?


Hello From France !

If I understand, just right click on the clip, when you are in the grading window, and choose "Batch unlink".
Then when you apply a modification on a clip, it does not apply this modification on the others.

Hope it will help you...
Tell me !

Francis
http://www.francisfrenkel.com
Offline

Alessio Vasarin

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:20 am

Re: Cutting a clip for different CG

PostThu Aug 30, 2012 12:35 pm

Thank you, but nothing happened. There's no menu appearing. I don't know why!
Canon 5dMK2
Blackmagic Pocket CC
Nikon glasses
www.frabiatofilm.com
Offline

Alessio Vasarin

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:20 am

Re: Cutting a clip for different CG

PostThu Aug 30, 2012 12:39 pm

Sorry, it was a problem with the magic mouse. The secondary clic was not stetted properly!
Canon 5dMK2
Blackmagic Pocket CC
Nikon glasses
www.frabiatofilm.com
Offline

Francis

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Cutting a clip for different CG

PostThu Aug 30, 2012 1:42 pm

Alessio Vasarin wrote:Sorry, it was a problem with the magic mouse. The secondary clic was not stetted properly!


Then did my respons help you ?
Offline

Alessio Vasarin

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:20 am

Re: Cutting a clip for different CG

PostThu Aug 30, 2012 3:36 pm

Yes, it resolves the problem. But I notice that choosing Batch unlink will delete all your color grading nodes. Don't know why. So for this time I will grab a still for all the graded clips and then I will "Batch unlink". Next time this will be the first step.

Thank you very much!
Canon 5dMK2
Blackmagic Pocket CC
Nikon glasses
www.frabiatofilm.com

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests