Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Lewis McGregor

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 12:25 pm

Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostFri Sep 06, 2019 9:58 am

Hey guys,

I was on a shoot yesterday testing the Pocket 6k, and for whatever reason, when transferring the data this morning, the second memory card was corrupted and needed to be formatted to be connected to the PC. Even when I put the card back in the 6k and the 4k, both cameras asked for the card to be formatted to use. Reluctantly, I formatted the card, knowing I could recover the footage.

Using Recuvva, I have since recovered the footage. However, all of the files have been recovered as .MOV files. But here's the kicker, when playing the .MOV file on VLC it says "VLC could not decode the format "brhq" and if I open the file via the Blackmagic RAW player, my beautiful footage is alive and well. However, everything, including Resolve, is viewing these files as a .MOV file with no video.

The RAW player can see the content, but nothing else can. How can I get these files back to the BRAW format?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10124
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostFri Sep 06, 2019 12:33 pm

Try to simply rename them.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

Lewis McGregor

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 12:25 pm

Re: Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostFri Sep 06, 2019 12:46 pm

Still nothing. Resolve only see's the audiowave levels, no video.
Offline

Lewis McGregor

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 12:25 pm

Re: Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostFri Sep 06, 2019 3:20 pm

Alright, I've done it. Pretty much thanks to Uli's comment but windows had changed the way the file extension renaming works.

Thank god for that! Cheers.
Offline

dugge101

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:05 am
  • Real Name: Jake Dugger

Re: Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostWed Jan 29, 2020 9:07 am

Hey there so I'm having the same problem what exactly did you do?
Offline

David Laplant

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:54 pm
  • Real Name: David Laplant

Re: Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostSun Apr 04, 2021 11:56 am

just give it a different name and it will work
Offline

jallen0

  • Posts: 480
  • Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:04 pm
  • Real Name: Justin Allen

Re: Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostSun Apr 04, 2021 2:04 pm

I need to rely this with the Tentacle Sync program as well. After it adds the timecode to the file it renames them .mov as well.
2019 MacPro Ver 11.2.3, 3.2GHz 16 Core, 160GB Mem, 4TB Drive, 4TB Internal Sonnet Raid, Dual Radeon Pro W5700X 16GB
LG UF 5k, 27" Thunderbolt Display, 55" LG C8 OLED
Resolve Edit Keyboard, Mini Panel, BM US 4K Mini
Resolve Studio Ver. 17.1.1
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1727
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostMon Apr 05, 2021 12:39 am

Are you using Tentacle Sync Studio to convert timecode on an audio track to proper timecode metadata?

In case you're not aware, Resolve can read the timecode without any conversion and you don't need the Tentacle Sync Studio app (unless you're doing something else with it). On the Media page, right click the clips and select "Update Timecode from Audio Track".
Offline

jallen0

  • Posts: 480
  • Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:04 pm
  • Real Name: Justin Allen

Re: Recovered BRAW Files as .MOV - Can I Revert Back?

PostMon Apr 05, 2021 12:44 am

Roger,

My bad, I wasn't clear. It works absolutely perfectly on the BMPCC 6K cameras that I use. I also paired them with an Sony FX3 and A7sIII camera for my last shoot and I could not seem to get the timecode to work on those cameras. I ran the Sony cameras through the Tentacle Sync program and it embedded the timecode but also gave me a .mov container at the end of the process. Quality did not appear to suffer as I selected pass-thru video but it was an extra step that had me worried.

I did not try what you suggested however. I will look at that tomorrow and see if it also works with the Sony cameras.
2019 MacPro Ver 11.2.3, 3.2GHz 16 Core, 160GB Mem, 4TB Drive, 4TB Internal Sonnet Raid, Dual Radeon Pro W5700X 16GB
LG UF 5k, 27" Thunderbolt Display, 55" LG C8 OLED
Resolve Edit Keyboard, Mini Panel, BM US 4K Mini
Resolve Studio Ver. 17.1.1

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests