Resolve 14b6 postgres 'lost' project!

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Roel Videler

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:50 am
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Resolve 14b6 postgres 'lost' project!

PostSun Aug 06, 2017 9:03 am

Hi there,

I'm in a bit of a panic fixing this before my client walks in in about 30 minutes, but I can't even see the project I worked on 2 days ago on my Postgres server. Here's the interesting lines in the log:

[0x00003594] | DbCommon2 | WARN | 2017-08-06 10:56:54,439 | Project with same name (Netflix & Chill 25) found in database QNAP, ignored (try to locate why this happened)!!!
[0x00003594] | DbCommon2 | WARN | 2017-08-06 10:56:54,439 | Project with same name (Netflix & Chill 25) found in database QNAP, ignored (try to locate why this happened)!!!
[0x00003594] | DbCommon2 | WARN | 2017-08-06 10:56:54,439 | Project with same name (Netflix & Chill 25) found in database QNAP, ignored (try to locate why this happened)!!!

Autosave was set for every 5 minutes with 'backup projects' enabled. I'm guessing that's where things are going south. I'm going to try and fix this locally but this seems like a really really bad thing.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1 on Windows 10 Pro x64
Supermicro 7048GR-TR with a X9DRG-QF Motherboard
2x Intel E5-2670, 8x 8GB 1600 ECC
BMD Intensity Pro 4K, NVidia GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Offline
User avatar

Roel Videler

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:50 am
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Resolve 14b6 postgres 'lost' project!

PostSun Aug 06, 2017 9:36 am

I 'fixed' it by changing the names of the duplicate projects to BU(number). This obviously shouldn't happen. An easy way to filter it is that the ProjRef is NULL on the original project and the ID of that project on the backups. So there's the answer to the todo in the log files. Hope this helps!

Also, if you're going to dive in the save feature anyway to fix this, I'd really like a timer on screen to tell me when autosaves are coming. That way I don't find myself being interrupted in my work/train of thought every time that pops up while i'm working on something.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1 on Windows 10 Pro x64
Supermicro 7048GR-TR with a X9DRG-QF Motherboard
2x Intel E5-2670, 8x 8GB 1600 ECC
BMD Intensity Pro 4K, NVidia GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4985
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve 14b6 postgres 'lost' project!

PostMon Aug 07, 2017 12:51 am

If you use Live Save its always automatically saving.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Daniel Stern

  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 5:28 pm

Re: Resolve 14b6 postgres 'lost' project!

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 1:26 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:If you use Live Save its always automatically saving.


At least with Disk Databases this is only true, if you turn the retain backup off. ( e.g. every 5 Minutes ) I don't know, if this also happens with Postgres. But both backup methods activated ( "Live Save"+Retain the last backups) don't work together. In my opinion a bug. Here is my post about this problem.

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=62354#p354643
MacBook 15"
NVIDIA GT 750M

CUDA 9.0.197
MacOS 10.12.6
Offline
User avatar

Roel Videler

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:50 am
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Resolve 14b6 postgres 'lost' project!

PostThu Aug 10, 2017 9:29 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:If you use Live Save its always automatically saving.


While I really like the Livesave concept, I don't really want to use it. Maybe in a collaborative situation, but I don't want my external Postgres server to bog me down and I kind of like the 'revert to saved' option, in case I mess up. If the Livesave feature could be combined with some kind of snapshotting (possibly something that's inside Postgres anyway) then I'd consider it.

TBH it seems like a bit of a strange point in this topic, which is about a project being unloadable by Resolve.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1 on Windows 10 Pro x64
Supermicro 7048GR-TR with a X9DRG-QF Motherboard
2x Intel E5-2670, 8x 8GB 1600 ECC
BMD Intensity Pro 4K, NVidia GTX 1080 Founders Edition

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Marc Wielage, Taz Goldstein and 16 guests