Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Kays Alatrakchi

  • Posts: 933
  • Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:22 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA

Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostWed May 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Just wondering, been wanting to try them out for quite some time. Is it possible to install them in Resolve 15? If so, where do they go (on a Mac)?
>>Kays Alatrakchi
Filmmaker based in Los Angeles, CA
www.mbkproductions.com
Resolve 16, Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra), i7 8700k, 32Gb DDR4 RAM, Dual GTX 1080ti, Decklink Mini Monitor, USB 3.1 RAID
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 129
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostSat May 19, 2018 10:10 pm

Nope. :(
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-05-20 at 01.07.59.png
Screen Shot 2018-05-20 at 01.07.59.png (151.2 KiB) Viewed 1551 times
Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Early 2015)
Windows 10 Pro 1903, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0.0.060
Blackmagic Fusion 9.0.2/Studio 16.0 build 49
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Hazelden

  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:10 pm
  • Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostSat May 19, 2018 11:05 pm

Kays Alatrakchi wrote:Just wondering, been wanting to try them out for quite some time. Is it possible to install them in Resolve 15? If so, where do they go (on a Mac)?


Hi Kays.

No. It is not possible to use the popular Krokodove plugin with Resolve 15 Beta 3's Fusion page. An updated version of the Fusion SDK libraries would be required for a compiled plugin like Krokodove to be able to work inside of Resolve 15.

To the best of my knowledge, BMD is currently focusing on other development priorities for Resolve 15 at the moment so no Fusion page plugin SDK is available for 3rd party developers like Komkom Doorn. Until this situation changes for the better, you will be unable to use Krokodove in Resolve.

If using compiled Fusion plugins like Krokodove, LitSphere3D, or CustomShader3D inside of Resolve Studio 15 is a priority of yours I suggest you contact Peter Chamberlain directly via a PM on this forum to let him know it is an important issue for you and is a feature you value and want. ;)
MacBook Pro 15-inch Mid 2015|2.8 GHz 4 Core i7|16GB RAM|AMD R9 M370X 2GB|Mac 10.13.4|Fu Studio 9.02|KartaVR 4
11xSupermicro 2042G-6RF Render Nodes|4xAMD G34 6276 CPUs@16 Cores|AMD GPU|Ubuntu 14.04 LTS|Fu Render Node 9.02|KartaVR 4
Offline

Stephen Dixon

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostMon Jul 02, 2018 5:29 am

This plugin fills a lot of holes in Fusion's toolset. Blackmagic should be doing everything it can to help the developer add support for Resolve 15 Fusion, given that it's a free plugin and to is probably going to make a significant difference to whether some users (like me) make the jump from other tools like AE.
Offline

DeFusion

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:28 pm
  • Real Name: Dévin van Cruchten

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostThu Feb 07, 2019 12:12 pm

Hey.

Is this still the case?
Offline

Floaf447

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:40 pm
  • Real Name: Fredrik Löfman

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostSat Apr 06, 2019 8:12 am

just tried it and it still does not work :-(
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 129
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostTue Apr 09, 2019 8:17 am

Maybe in Fusion 16?
Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Early 2015)
Windows 10 Pro 1903, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0.0.060
Blackmagic Fusion 9.0.2/Studio 16.0 build 49
Offline

Cosmin Hodiș-Mîndraș

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:00 pm
  • Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostSun Apr 14, 2019 8:48 am

DeFusion wrote:Is this still the case?


Yes, I'm afraid.
iMac 27-inch Retina 2017 (4.2 GHz i7, Radeon Pro 580 8GB, 32GB RAM, 2TB SSD) | DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.1.0B.017 (beta 1) | UltraStudio 4K Extreme 3 | Resolve Micro Panel | Desktop Video 11.2 | Ursa Mini Pro 4.6K v6.1 firmware
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 129
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostFri Aug 09, 2019 12:39 pm

No Fusion SDK? :(
Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
MacBook Pro Retina 13in (Early 2015)
Windows 10 Pro 1903, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0.0.060
Blackmagic Fusion 9.0.2/Studio 16.0 build 49
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Hazelden

  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:10 pm
  • Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Do Krokodove plugins work in Resolve 15 Fusion?

PostFri Aug 09, 2019 3:25 pm

Sergey Mirontsev wrote:No Fusion SDK? :(


There's some good progress to report on this front actually. I've heard that an updated Fusion 16/Resolve 16 Fusion page SDK exists now for writing C++ plugins that work with the core Fuson API features. :)

RE:Vision Effects has recompiled versions of their Fusion Standalone plugins that run in Fusion 16 and Resolve 16. This is awesome!

2019-07-25 Reelsmart Motion Blur.png
2019-07-25 Reelsmart Motion Blur.png (268.57 KiB) Viewed 86 times


This updated Fusion 16 SDK means we're a lot closer to seeing a KKD release happen for Fusion/Resolve 16 in the future. When that will happen exactly though, I have no idea.

P.S. I think it would be great if BMD dropped the NDA contract requirement from their Fusion SDK going forward so more 3rd party developers who make 2D/3D plugins in the Adobe/Foundry/Autodesk ecosystem would be interested in supporting the BMD post-production software with advanced compositing plugins.

The Fusion SDK is far more powerful in what it allows tools to do in Fusion compared to going the OFX plugin route. IMHO it's a damn shame to see this API potential wasted by bureaucratic red tape on BMDs front. :?

For example, only the Fusion 16 SDK would allow a 3rd party renderer to be integrated in Fusion's 3D workspace. OFX Plugins can't access Fusion's 3D scene graph.
MacBook Pro 15-inch Mid 2015|2.8 GHz 4 Core i7|16GB RAM|AMD R9 M370X 2GB|Mac 10.13.4|Fu Studio 9.02|KartaVR 4
11xSupermicro 2042G-6RF Render Nodes|4xAMD G34 6276 CPUs@16 Cores|AMD GPU|Ubuntu 14.04 LTS|Fu Render Node 9.02|KartaVR 4

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Glenn Venghaus, Mario Kalogjera, raulrudge, Van Laere Patrick and 57 guests