Page 1 of 1

(I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please :)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:10 pm
by Anton Meleshkevich
Please add an option to apply GUI display LUT to Full Screen mode.
Or better add an option to use independent display LUTs for GUI preview and new full screen mode.

Yes, I have decklink monitor card. But it has 12 frames lag (on different PCs, fresh OS, latest drivers, different GPUs). So I'd like to be able to add calibration LUT for fullscreen mode and use this instead of decklink.

LUT box seems to be a bad idea, because it will operate with 8 bit signal in this case.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:33 pm
by Jim Simon
Full Screen display goes through the GPU and isn't well suited for accurate monitoring.

You're best option is still the Decklink.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:50 pm
by timble
Yes. LUT for full screen viewer is a necessity.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:07 pm
by Kenzo
Anton Meleshkevich wrote:Yes, I have decklink monitor card. But it has 12 frames lag (on different PCs, fresh OS, latest drivers, different GPUs).


Try older drivers, I have Intensity Pro and i had problem with lag too. I'm back to Desktop video 10.9.5 driver and it's ok.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:07 pm
by Micha Clazing
I am guessing this is simply not added yet because it's the first beta version with full screen GPU output functionality. Since GPU full screen output will always be a different monitor than the GUI monitor, I'd like to request a third LUT option alongside the viewer and monitoring LUTs. This way, you can have more or less accurate output in the viewer (monitor 1), hero display (monitor 2), and optionally a third display driven by the GPU, without having to rely on external signal splitters and hardware LUT boxes.

Additionally, the elephant in the room regarding GPU full screen output is that this now allows owners of the Blackmagic eGPU box to do basic monitoring with just a laptop and the eGPU attached to a reference monitor, greatly saving on precious bandwidth and ports, both of which are scarce on laptops.

Greatly looking forward to seeing this feature become a first-class citizen in future betas as 16.1 matures.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:47 am
by Anton Meleshkevich
Kenzo wrote:
Anton Meleshkevich wrote:Yes, I have decklink monitor card. But it has 12 frames lag (on different PCs, fresh OS, latest drivers, different GPUs).


Try older drivers, I have Intensity Pro and i had problem with lag too. I'm back to Desktop video 10.9.5 driver and it's ok.


Thank you! But unfortunately older drivers don't support resolve v16.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:46 am
by Anton Meleshkevich
Finally I found a solution for decklink delay. I just turned on Hide UI Overlays.
However it makes GUI video preview to use the same calibration LUT which is set for video monitoring.

So I just hope, whatever changes will be added for new fullscreen video preview and it's LUT slot, it won't break everything with decklink monitoring :)

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:37 am
by Kenzo
Anton Meleshkevich wrote:Thank you! But unfortunately older drivers don't support resolve v16.


Maybe not, but with my Resolve 16 works very well. :)

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:26 pm
by Mario Kalogjera
I second (or third?) the request for a LUT slot for the new second screen viewer option !!!

Sent from my GM 5 Plus d using Tapatalk

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 5:54 am
by TobiJitsu
+1 .... +9000 actually :)

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:09 pm
by Micha Clazing
Micha Clazing wrote:I am guessing this is simply not added yet because it's the first beta version with full screen GPU output functionality.
Greatly looking forward to seeing this feature become a first-class citizen in future betas as 16.1 matures.

Just installed 16.1.1 and unfortunately this is still unavailable. Not even the viewer LUTs get applied to the GPU output. Maybe it'll make it in just in time for the Mac Pro launch, probably in December.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 6:03 am
by Dan Sherman
Micha Clazing wrote:Just installed 16.1.1 and unfortunately this is still unavailable. Not even the viewer LUTs get applied to the GPU output. Maybe it'll make it in just in time for the Mac Pro launch, probably in December.


I came across this tonight, and it definitely doesn't make sense.

At the very minimum, the color viewer lut should be applied to the clean feed. Ideally though it should have it's own lut, because it will be on a secondary display.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2019 8:46 pm
by kinvermark
+1. Video clean feed IS affected by your selection of viewer LUTs in project preferences.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2019 6:58 pm
by Micha Clazing
kinvermark wrote:+1. Video clean feed IS affected by your selection of viewer LUTs in project preferences.

I've just recently tested it and that's not the case on my system (Windows 16.1.2). It's very simple to test by using the invert colour 1DLUT; colours are only inverted on the main monitor viewer, not the secondary monitor clean feed.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:48 am
by kinvermark
Hi Micha,

Try the 3d LUT, works here.

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2019 3:10 pm
by Micha Clazing
kinvermark wrote:Hi Micha,

Try the 3d LUT, works here.

Interesting. The video monitor LUT applies to the viewer and clean feed, but only on the Cut and Edit pages. This seems to be a bug, as at least for the viewer, it should use the viewer LUT instead. I wonder in which version this bug was introduced.

The Fusion, Color, Fairlight and Deliver pages correctly use the viewer LUT for the viewer, and don't use any LUT for the clean feed.

While somebody looks over the code to fix the bug, I'd very much appreciate it if a separate clean feed LUT gets added to the color management tab in project settings. :)

Re: (I have decklink, but...) Full Screen Display LUT please

PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:45 pm
by kinvermark
Confirmed bug/issue.

Looks like the EDIT/CUT teams think one way and the COLOR team thinks another. That's not good.