16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

videotonart

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:53 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Real Name: Carl Schuurbiers

16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostMon Sep 09, 2019 9:27 pm

Hi,

I'm having a rather severe audio issue:

1080p25 timeline.
Video: MXF footage audio+video from SONY PXW-FS7 camera, an after effects ProRes444 render and a PNG graphic.
Audio: mono audio track from video MXF, being processed in the fairlight page, by three VST plugins (SONNOX denoiser and compressor, fabfilter EQ)

Playback in EDL: all audio is fine.

Exporting timeline IN to OUT to MXF OP1A DNxHD 1080p 220/185/175 10 bit
Audio PCM 16 bit stereo.

Video is ok. Audio NOT: random audio glitches in exported file. Tried exporting again a few times, each time the same sort of artifacts occur but in different places.

Tried exporting with disabled VST plugins -> still glitches in audio output
Tried exporting audio only -> still glitches in audio output
Tried exporting with lower gain (eliminating a few small inter-plugin overloads) -> still glitches in audio output
Tried exporting other codec (h.264 NVENC) -> still glitches in audio output
Tried exporting audio as 24bit -> still glitches in audio output

The glitches sound like small segments of audio that are missing/repeated

Seemed to have been fine in Beta1?

Anyway now it's broken :(

BTW: I'm on Windows 10.0.17134 Build 17134
Is that enough info?

Carl.
Offline

kalpox

  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:49 am
  • Real Name: Álvaro Urquiza

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 9:22 am

Same problem here. Sad to hear it was fixed in v15 but is back in 16.1. :cry:
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.3 b2, Windows 10, GeForce RTX 2060SUPER 8GB, 32GB RAM, Ryzen 7 2700X
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 1:13 pm

Same problem. 16.1 Beta2. Frustrating.
Resolve 16.1.2 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 2:20 pm

Similar behaviour is if I insert two Waves plugins on bus. Exported audio has glitches.
My resolve is insert effect plugins to timeline track (not to bus) but I'd like preferred correct behaviour of DaVinci. I hope Blackmagic developers fix it.
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.6 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9465
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 2:32 pm

I haven't seen this issue yet in Studio 16.1b2 for Windows.

Have you tested other audio sources, other timelines, other frame rates, other projects?
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 2:45 pm

Yes I did.
Had to go back to 16.0 for a clean export.
Resolve 16.1.2 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 2:48 pm

Jim Simon wrote:I haven't seen this issue yet in Studio 16.1b2 for Windows.
Really? This is good to hear because there is a possibility that it can be fixed for Mac.
Jim Simon wrote:Have you tested other audio sources, other timelines, other frame rates, other projects?
This behavior has been tested in dozens of different projects.
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.6 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9465
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 2:59 pm

OK.

You guys are all using .wav audio as source? No compressed formats?
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3863
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 3:08 pm

Corrupted audio with third-party VST plugins goes back forever. Has any version been free of it? For sure?
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9465
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 3:11 pm

(That's one reason why I don't like plug-ins, wanting such functionality built in and high quality.)
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 3:29 pm

The same timeline with same source files exports just fine in DR 16.0. It is definitely a Beta bug.
Resolve 16.1.2 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3863
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 3:32 pm

With what VST plugins?
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 3:39 pm

No VST plugins.
Resolve 16.1.2 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 4:02 pm

Jim Simon wrote:You guys are all using .wav audio as source? No compressed formats?
Of course. PCM 24-bit.
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.6 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 4:05 pm

TomasM wrote:The same timeline with same source files exports just fine in DR 16.0. It is definitely a Beta bug.
I never had 16.0 installed, but the problem was also in DaVinci 15.
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.6 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9465
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 4:12 pm

TomasM wrote:It is definitely a Beta bug.


Hard to pinpoint, though. I can't think of any more variables that might cause it to not work for you, while audio exports are working just fine for me.
Offline
User avatar

videotonart

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:53 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Real Name: Carl Schuurbiers

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 4:21 pm

Well... as usual it seems to be a combination of things.

When I REMOVE the plugins from the audio channel, the result is a bit better, less artefacts.
But still NOT ok.

An export from the same EDL but with the audio muted and other audio from some random WAV file on another track is clean.

So it seems the problem occurs with the audio from the camera file: this is the first audio track out of the eight that are in the MXF. As I said the footage originates from a SONY FS7: XAVC Intra 3840x2160 at 25fps, S-Log3, with 8 channels of 24bit PCM at 48kHz.

I take my audio to an external application for processing but for some smaller projects it would be very efficient to keep it all inside Resolve including the audio processing. But unfortunately we're not there yet..
Can't spend any more time on this, hope that maybe I have pointed in the right direction.

Will check again with the next beta!

Cheers,
Carl.
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 4:25 pm

Maybe the length of a timeline?
I'm exporting a ~1hr final file. And glitches appear very irregulary.
Resolve 16.1.2 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9465
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 4:26 pm

I've exported two hour timelines without issue. I don't think that's it.
Offline
User avatar

Daz Wood

  • Posts: 346
  • Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 2:59 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 6:49 pm

Have you any way of extracting the audio out of the files and then import them into Davinci to test if it works?
Thank you

Daz

ASUS Strix GL702ZC 17" laptop. AMD Ryzen 7 1700 (Desktop CPU), 16GB DDR4, 256GB M.2 SSD+1TB HDD, 4GB RX 580, Win10
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostWed Sep 11, 2019 7:28 am

No time for such an extensive testing, unfortunately.
Switched to 16.0 until next stable release.
Resolve 16.1.2 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostWed Sep 11, 2019 9:48 am

Daz Wood wrote:Have you any way of extracting the audio out of the files and then import them into Davinci to test if it works?
This brings the same result. This is not a way to solve this problem.
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.6 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9465
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostWed Sep 11, 2019 2:56 pm

Vit Reiter wrote:This is not a way to solve this problem.


At this point, I think the effort is to try and find the variable that's causing a problem for some, but not others. Knowing that variable would give BMD somewhere to look.
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostThu Sep 12, 2019 12:34 pm

Jim Simon wrote:At this point, I think the effort is to try and find the variable that's causing a problem for some, but not others. Knowing that variable would give BMD somewhere to look.
For me, the solution is only to insert effect plugins on the track on the timeline, not on the bus.
Extracting the audio out of the files and then import them into Davinci doesn't work :|
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.6 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

kalpox

  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:49 am
  • Real Name: Álvaro Urquiza

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostFri Sep 13, 2019 10:17 am

Still present in 16.1 b3, so for the moment this still makes DR unusable for me. :(
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.3 b2, Windows 10, GeForce RTX 2060SUPER 8GB, 32GB RAM, Ryzen 7 2700X
Offline

philtimm

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:10 pm
  • Location: Bristol, UK
  • Real Name: Philip Timm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostTue Oct 15, 2019 9:00 pm

I, too, am getting this huge bug. Glad I'm not the only one, but it'd be REALLY nice to see an official response to it.

The only workaround I have found is to do a bounce of your mix within Fairlight, and go find that generated file and use that externally to encode with, by multiplexing it with your video file.
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
Intel i7 6700K @ 4.6GHz
32GB 2400Mhz RAM
1TB SATA M.2 SSD sys drive
10TB Lacie RAID5, via TB3 - TB2 adapter
BMD Mini Monitor
TVLogic LVM-240W SDI monitor (calibrated with i1Display Pro)

Win 10 Pro
Resolve Studio 16.1b
Offline
User avatar

videotonart

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:53 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany
  • Real Name: Carl Schuurbiers

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostThu Oct 17, 2019 2:47 pm

I can also confirm that this bug is still present in beta 3...

Does anybody from Blackmagic look at this forum at all?
Or do I need to additionally submit a bug report?

Some kind of reaction would be nice...
Offline
User avatar

Jeffrey Hahn

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:01 pm
  • Location: Omaha, NE, USA

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostThu Oct 17, 2019 4:27 pm

Can confirm that 16.1b3 is causing delivery errors with audio while using some Waves plugins. Plays fine on the timeline but upon delivery export I'm hearing artifacts of other random portions of the main bus playing for a few seconds before the main finally begins to play properly. The projects that have this problem all have submix busses FYI. Bouncing is a temp fix the problem as far as I can tell.
--
URSA Mini Pro 4.6K, w/ SSD recorder, URSA 4K
Mac Pro 6,1 / 8 core Intel Xeon, 3.5 GHz / 64 GB RAM
Ultrastudio 4K
DR Editor Keyboard
Blackmagic Thunderbolt SSD Dock
Resolve Micro Panel
2 TB SSD cache, 16 TB project array, 36 TB project archive
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostThu Oct 17, 2019 6:21 pm

Jeffrey Hahn wrote:Can confirm that 16.1b3 is causing delivery errors with audio while using some Waves plugins. Plays fine on the timeline but upon delivery export I'm hearing artifacts of other random portions of the main bus playing for a few seconds before the main finally begins to play properly. The projects that have this problem all have submix busses FYI. Bouncing is a temp fix the problem as far as I can tell.
Yes, I confirm. Two or more Waves plugins applied to buses cause errors in the exported audio. One plugin is fine.

Apply them to the track, not to the bus. I hope the BM team can make it right.
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.6 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

Rohit Singhal

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 416
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:07 am

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostFri Oct 18, 2019 2:28 am

Can you please check on 16.1 released today and let us know if you still see the issue?
Rohit Singhal
DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline
User avatar

Jeffrey Hahn

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:01 pm
  • Location: Omaha, NE, USA

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostFri Oct 18, 2019 3:32 am

Rohit,

Thanks for the response. Issue is still a problem in 16.1 final.

I have uploaded the DRP file to Dropbox for you in case that might help.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/g2lfc948w441q ... 0.drp?dl=0

Let us know if you need any other info and please keep us informed as to when this will be fixed.
--
URSA Mini Pro 4.6K, w/ SSD recorder, URSA 4K
Mac Pro 6,1 / 8 core Intel Xeon, 3.5 GHz / 64 GB RAM
Ultrastudio 4K
DR Editor Keyboard
Blackmagic Thunderbolt SSD Dock
Resolve Micro Panel
2 TB SSD cache, 16 TB project array, 36 TB project archive
Offline

Dwanehollands

  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 11:19 pm
  • Location: Darwin, Australia

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostMon Nov 11, 2019 10:35 am

Yeah I’m running 16.1.1 madly trying to prepare a DCP for cinema and I get these audio glitches.

I’m breaking up the 30 min DCP into 11 parts to minimise the amount of outputting I’m doing.

But it’s so hit or miss.

Sometimes a restart can fix it. But now it’s getting to the point where it’s always glitching.

Things that didn’t glitch - now do. It’s a massive problem for me.

My workstation specs should be in signature
Dwane Hollands

Pocket 6K | BMMCC | Metabones BMPCC | Sigma 18-35 f1.8 | Zeiss 50mm ZE 1.4
Davinci Resolve Studio 16.1.2
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Mac Pro (trashcan) 3.5Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
32GB Memory | AMD FirePro D500 3072MB x 2
1TB Internal SSD
Offline

remiphoto

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:29 am
  • Real Name: Remi Portier

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostSat Jan 04, 2020 10:31 am

Hello
Same problem here on every versions since 16
Even when I just put a MP3 song in audio, the output glitches ! I can't work !
Offline

ChipKng

  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:39 am
  • Real Name: Csaba Simon

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostWed Jan 08, 2020 10:01 am

remiphoto wrote:Hello
Same problem here on every versions since 16
Even when I just put a MP3 song in audio, the output glitches ! I can't work !


There is another thread with the same problem. Workaround is to set the NVidia encoder speed to 100 or lower from MAX.
Windows 10 | Resolve 16.2.7 Studio | GTX 1070Ti | 32 Gigs Mem | i7-4790K
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 1897
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostWed Jan 08, 2020 11:33 pm

This problems seems to manifest itself if the render speed is set to Max. Try a lower speed and see if it makes a difference.
Attachments
Render Speed.JPG
Render Speed.JPG (74.44 KiB) Viewed 1560 times
Resolve 16.2.7.008 (free)
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (452.06 Studio), Win 10 Home-18363, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win 7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, 3 Screens
Offline

Dwanehollands

  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 11:19 pm
  • Location: Darwin, Australia

Re: 16.1 Beta2 audio glitches in output

PostThu Jan 09, 2020 12:30 am

Yes I've found changing that setting from MAX to 100 solves the issue for me with no noticeable slow down in rendering.
Dwane Hollands

Pocket 6K | BMMCC | Metabones BMPCC | Sigma 18-35 f1.8 | Zeiss 50mm ZE 1.4
Davinci Resolve Studio 16.1.2
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Mac Pro (trashcan) 3.5Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
32GB Memory | AMD FirePro D500 3072MB x 2
1TB Internal SSD

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chri3sss, JaphetDeOliveira, Martin Lopez Funes, Michael_Andreas and 45 guests