Source viewer with the source aspect ratio...

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Videoneth

  • Posts: 1577
  • Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:03 pm
  • Real Name: Maxwell Allington

Source viewer with the source aspect ratio...

PostFri Dec 08, 2023 11:40 am

When you're on a "portrait mode" timeline and you double-click on a video (which might be in a different format like landscape mode) it opens up in the source viewer in portrait mode. Honestly, it's not very practical. I find myself frequently having to edit regular 16:9 videos to make them suitable for vertical videos.

In my opinion, when we open a video in the source viewer from the media pool, it would make more sense if it automatically adapted to the original clip's aspect ratio.

Here's what I end up doing: I create a new timeline using selected clips, cut and select the elements I need, copy them, paste them into my vertical timeline, and then make adjustments. After that, I delete the temporary timeline. It's a bit of a workaround, but it gets the job done.
Windows 10
18.6.5
nVidia 3090 - 537.42
Offline

AndrewKeil

  • Posts: 276
  • Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:27 pm
  • Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland
  • Real Name: Andrew Keil

Re: Source viewer with the source aspect ratio...

PostMon Dec 11, 2023 1:16 pm

+1

I can't understand why the source viewer needs to match the timeline aspect ratio. Feels more like a bug than a feature.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 29455
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Source viewer with the source aspect ratio...

PostMon Dec 11, 2023 3:51 pm

AndrewKeil wrote:I can't understand why the source viewer needs to match the timeline aspect ratio.
Pure guess...both windows use the same "code", which is affected by timeline.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Marc Wielage and 5 guests