Apple Prores export for Windows system

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Bruce Phung

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2023 11:42 pm
  • Real Name: Bruce Phung

Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostSat Dec 09, 2023 11:37 pm

I do not own MAC system. But I heard that Davinci Resolve allowed MAC system to export Apple Prores codec. Why can't us Windows users can do the same? I am also a Vegas Pro user and its has Apple Prores options for export in Windows system.
DR Studio 18.6.4 Decklink Mini monitor 4K
Intel i7 12700K Overclocked @5.2Ghz Custom watercooled, 480mm
Team Group 32GB RGB DDR5 6400Mhz
Asrock Radeon RX 6900XT 16GB
Samsung 980 Pro Nvme.M2 Windows 11
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 2565
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostSun Dec 10, 2023 2:30 pm

Bruce Phung wrote:I do not own MAC system. But I heard that Davinci Resolve allowed MAC system to export Apple Prores codec. Why can't us Windows users can do the same? I am also a Vegas Pro user and its has Apple Prores options for export in Windows system.
Different os, different licenses for Blackmagic Design.
Under windows Blackmagic Design fusion had ProRes, resolve not.
You can use external free plugin exporter for resolve that use ffmpeg to produce a ProRes export.


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline

Bruce Phung

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2023 11:42 pm
  • Real Name: Bruce Phung

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostSun Dec 10, 2023 4:11 pm

carlomacchiavello wrote:
Bruce Phung wrote:I do not own MAC system. But I heard that Davinci Resolve allowed MAC system to export Apple Prores codec. Why can't us Windows users can do the same? I am also a Vegas Pro user and its has Apple Prores options for export in Windows system.
Different os, different licenses for Blackmagic Design.
Under windows Blackmagic Design fusion had ProRes, resolve not.
You can use external free plugin exporter for resolve that use ffmpeg to produce a ProRes export.


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk



Thank you so much for your input. Greatly appreciated. I used Voukoder plugin to export it.
DR Studio 18.6.4 Decklink Mini monitor 4K
Intel i7 12700K Overclocked @5.2Ghz Custom watercooled, 480mm
Team Group 32GB RGB DDR5 6400Mhz
Asrock Radeon RX 6900XT 16GB
Samsung 980 Pro Nvme.M2 Windows 11
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 2565
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostSun Dec 10, 2023 4:55 pm

Bruce Phung wrote:
carlomacchiavello wrote:
Bruce Phung wrote:I do not own MAC system. But I heard that Davinci Resolve allowed MAC system to export Apple Prores codec. Why can't us Windows users can do the same? I am also a Vegas Pro user and its has Apple Prores options for export in Windows system.
Different os, different licenses for Blackmagic Design.
Under windows Blackmagic Design fusion had ProRes, resolve not.
You can use external free plugin exporter for resolve that use ffmpeg to produce a ProRes export.


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk



Thank you so much for your input. Greatly appreciated. I used Voukoder plugin to export it.

excellent, exactly what i though but... i not remember the right name :-P
Offline

JerryG

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2021 10:19 pm
  • Location: Northern California
  • Real Name: Jerry Gardner

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostWed Jan 10, 2024 2:12 am

carlomacchiavello wrote:Different os, different licenses for Blackmagic Design.
Under windows Blackmagic Design fusion had ProRes, resolve not.
You can use external free plugin exporter for resolve that use ffmpeg to produce a ProRes export.


Why not support ProRes export directly in Resolve for Windows rather than relying on external programs?

It seems nonsensical to me that a professional editing program wouldn't support ProRes in 2024.
Jerry Gardner
Northern California
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 10782
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostWed Jan 10, 2024 2:44 am

JerryG wrote:Why not support ProRes export directly in Resolve for Windows rather than relying on external programs? It seems nonsensical to me that a professional editing program wouldn't support ProRes in 2024.

I believe it's an Apple decision, not a Blackmagic issue. I think if it were as simple as a license -- like $5 per copy of the Windows version of Resolve for a ProRes render license -- they would've done it by now. Still, it's puzzling that Adobe Premiere for Windows can render and playback Apple ProRes (legitimately).
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 2999
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostWed Jan 10, 2024 8:26 am

Marc Wielage wrote:Still, it's puzzling that Adobe Premiere for Windows can render and playback Apple ProRes (legitimately).

There’s nothing puzzling in it, Adobe and all others (there are many) who have official prores encoding on win comply with Apple’s license, BMD does not want to do that. I fail to see why Apple would decide to muck with BMD on their behalf and at the same time have good cooperation. Everything here points to BMD being the one not wanting to do what needs to be done, not Apple.
I do stuff.
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 2565
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostWed Jan 10, 2024 11:34 am

JerryG wrote:It seems nonsensical to me that a professional editing program wouldn't support ProRes in 2024.

Resolve support ProRes in reading but not in writing under windows, fusion keep its original license from when it’s Eyeon product, not newer according.

May be matter of money, adobe is a monthly money earning, that mean a small fee for a license can be in the cake is for apple, resolve is one time buy tool, may be not give enough interest under window to have ProRes, or… is more important for Apple to have resolve better under Mac to sell more Mac than ProRes license under windows.

Without an official statement all our thought are speculations, but every time something lack, it’s a matter of money, no more


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 3331
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostWed Jan 10, 2024 12:13 pm

carlomacchiavello wrote:
JerryG wrote:It seems nonsensical to me that a professional editing program wouldn't support ProRes in 2024.

Resolve support ProRes in reading but not in writing under windows, fusion keep its original license from when it’s Eyeon product, not newer according.

That's incorrect, support for rendering Apple ProRes on Windows was introduced by BMD with Fusion Studio 9, in august 2017.
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 2565
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostWed Jan 10, 2024 12:19 pm

roger.magnusson wrote:
carlomacchiavello wrote:
JerryG wrote:It seems nonsensical to me that a professional editing program wouldn't support ProRes in 2024.

Resolve support ProRes in reading but not in writing under windows, fusion keep its original license from when it’s Eyeon product, not newer according.

That's incorrect, support for rendering Apple ProRes on Windows was introduced by BMD with Fusion Studio 9, in august 2017.
I’m was sure that I can export ProRes in older version of fusion, not the first digital fusion4 that I bought but in between 7-8, I can be wrong and remember the decoding support.
at that time I use only windows Os and sometimes collaborate with other a Mac editor post house.
Thanks for the info.


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline

JerryG

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2021 10:19 pm
  • Location: Northern California
  • Real Name: Jerry Gardner

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostWed Jan 10, 2024 8:18 pm

carlomacchiavello wrote:
JerryG wrote:Without an official statement all our thought are speculations


Perhaps Blackmagic can clarify their stance on this once and for all and end the speculation!

(I won't be holding my breath, however :evil: ).
Jerry Gardner
Northern California
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 2565
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostWed Jan 10, 2024 10:14 pm

JerryG wrote:
carlomacchiavello wrote:
JerryG wrote:Without an official statement all our thought are speculations


Perhaps Blackmagic can clarify their stance on this once and for all and end the speculation!

(I won't be holding my breath, however :evil: ).

i think you should hold breath along :-D
Adobe have prores encoding under windows from dic 2018, Avid can do that from september 2019, only in recent period you can export prores officially from windows application.
Seems there are many reason for Apple to keep Prores for Mac version only.
i'm not an insider, i dont know why...
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 10490
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostThu Jan 11, 2024 6:57 am

I can dig out an older thread where this was asked... 6-7 years ago and counting...

I didn't even lost the battle on that hill, I just lost hope..
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 18.5.1 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4907
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostThu Jan 11, 2024 7:06 am

Funny thing is, that even one-man-band-developer Russ Andersson from Syntheyes implemented official ProRes encoding on Windows two years ago.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 10490
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostThu Jan 11, 2024 5:20 pm

It could be as simple as:

Exterior Night, dark alley
Two old man in raincoat battle the fierce wind and struggle to keep the cigarette light up, the neon sign talk of pleasure and decay, they know what they want, it is just a deal like any other.

Apple: so, I will give you advance hardware that is not released yet and you can program ahead of the competition, it will be in any showcase event, all screens, worldwide!
BM: sweet!
Apple: …buuuuuttt….
BM: yeeeessss……
Apple: No prores on window. EVARRRR

*shake hands*
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 18.5.1 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 2999
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostThu Jan 11, 2024 9:32 pm

Win-win, right, as Apple is not interested in widespread use of Prores...
I do stuff.
Offline

JLightle

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2023 3:23 pm
  • Real Name: Josiah Lightle

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostSun Jan 14, 2024 2:37 am

I would be willing to pay a monthly subscription to have ProRes on Windows.
I'm already paying for adobe Media encoder so I can convert my .MXF files to ProRes.
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 2565
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostSun Jan 14, 2024 8:37 am

waltervolpatto wrote:It could be as simple as:

Exterior Night, dark alley
Two old man in raincoat battle the fierce wind and struggle to keep the cigarette light up, the neon sign talk of pleasure and decay, they know what they want, it is just a deal like any other.

Apple: so, I will give you advance hardware that is not released yet and you can program ahead of the competition, it will be in any showcase event, all screens, worldwide!
BM: sweet!
Apple: …buuuuuttt….
BM: yeeeessss……
Apple: No prores on window. EVARRRR

*shake hands*
Walter hai vinto
“You win”


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 2565
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Apple Prores export for Windows system

PostSun Jan 14, 2024 8:39 am

JLightle wrote:I would be willing to pay a monthly subscription to have ProRes on Windows.
I'm already paying for adobe Media encoder so I can convert my .MXF files to ProRes.
I know could be the more bigger converter of … but if you have resolve studio license, you have fusion license, if you not need to convert tons of files you can use it under windows to build ProRes from mxf.


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests