Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

philipbowser

  • Posts: 390
  • Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:53 pm

Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostTue Mar 01, 2022 2:09 am

We need the ability to set a Clip Name for a TimelineItem in the scripting API. This is essential for batch renaming shots in the timeline.

Something like a "SetName()" call on a TimelineItem. This would ideally change the Clip Name for that clip instance in the timeline. This would have the same action as right clicking a clip in the timeline and selecting "Clip Attributes", and changing the name in the "Name" tab. This method only changes the Clip Name for that selected clip in the timeline, not in the Media Pool or any other references to that footage.

Currently we have "SetClipProperty("Clip Name, "New Name")" on a MediaPoolItem, but this changes the clip name for every instance of that clip in the project.

I previously wrote this all as one thread, but I've realized it's better to separate them into their own threads.
Offline

dominik.eckold

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:58 am
  • Real Name: Dominik Eckold

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostThu Apr 21, 2022 5:05 pm

I have this on my wishlist, too. Being able to change Clip Names via python would really help to automate my workflow.

My current workaround is use a script to place markers on all clips which display the custom name that I have chosen. I also write the custom name into the "Version" attribute of each clip which is accessible on the delivery page to place individual clips in subfolders of the chosen name.

Code: Select all
import DaVinciResolveScript as dvrs

# ########## Global variables ##########
# Scripting Engine
resolve = dvrs.scriptapp('Resolve')
# Project Manager
projectManager = resolve.GetProjectManager()
# Current Project
project = projectManager.GetCurrentProject()
# Media Pool
mediaPool = project.GetMediaPool()
# Get the root bin
binRoot = mediaPool.GetRootFolder()

# Get the currently opened timeline
tl = project.GetCurrentTimeline()

# Get the start frame of the timeline
tlStart = tl.GetStartFrame()

# Get a list of all clips in the video track
clips = tl.GetItemListInTrack('video', 1)

i = 1000
for clip in clips:
    # New clip name
    clipName = 'MyClipName' + str('%04d' % i)

    # Timeline start frame needs to be subtracted from clip start as the first clip always starts at 0 - no matter the timeline start TC
    clipStart = clip.GetStart() - tlStart
   
    # Clip duration
    clipDur = clip.GetDuration()

    # Add a marker for each clip displaying the custom name
    tl.AddMarker(clipStart, 'Red', clipName, '', clipDur, 'Renamed')
   
    # Add a color version as an attribute to use for subfolder generation
    clip.AddVersion(clipName , 0)
    print('Added custom name "' + clipName + '"')
    i += 1


That's the best I can do under the current limitations. Being able to actually change the Clip Name attribute would be much better, of course.
Offline

Abel Milanes

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:11 pm

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostMon May 22, 2023 9:06 pm

Bumping this request up since we are in a Beta Cycle.

We see features being added on the API side on each version. This one have been missing for a while now.

Having API access to timeline segment/event/clip naming, for both reading and modifying, greatly improve VFX shot work and be more inline with workflows available in Flame, Nuke Studio, Baselight and SCRATCH.

This will also contribute to upcoming OTIO workflows with the ability to store shot metadata in exported timelines.

Thanks!
Offline

philipbowser

  • Posts: 390
  • Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:53 pm

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostWed Sep 27, 2023 11:36 pm

Just chiming in again to hopefully bring more attention to this. VFX editors everywhere would rejoice. And maybe even switch over to Resolve!
Offline

Abel Milanes

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:11 pm

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostTue Oct 10, 2023 3:03 pm

Pretty Please!
I wrote something a while ago... but is still ugly without being able to set the timeline item name.
https://vimeo.com/771450115?share=copy
Offline

petertimberlake

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2024 5:46 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Timberlake

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostThu May 09, 2024 10:43 pm

Bumping this!
Offline

Solomon

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:55 am
  • Real Name: Timur Harchenko

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostThu Aug 22, 2024 2:42 pm

I support the request
Offline
User avatar

Pavle Milicevic

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:19 pm
  • Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostMon Sep 23, 2024 8:40 am

Bumping this so much!

We need this so we can write our own tools for various purposes. All in all, Resolve really needs to be able modify timeline contents with scripts as well as allow us to publish plates in very structured way for VFX work.

Otherwise we have to use things like Hiero or Flame and that's adding roundtrips here and there - whenever we can save time on renders is time we can use for creative work.
Offline

Ryan Bloomer

  • Posts: 894
  • Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:58 pm

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostTue Nov 26, 2024 1:05 am

Chiming in. 100% agree with being able to change clip name in the timeline via scripting. The possibilities of this one feature would open so many workflows. Really hope this can happen soon. We have a lot of upcoming projects that would greatly benefit from this.
Offline
User avatar

jordibares

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:37 pm
  • Location: London

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostSun Dec 22, 2024 6:55 pm

This is insanely important for any kind VFX work, +10000

Please BMD, get this one in place, smooth the path to VFX exports and help us get Resolve as the timeline management of choice... you are SO CLOSE, it is unforgivable not to do it.
Jordi Bares
Creative Director / VFX Supervisor
Offline

sushi ninja

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2023 8:01 am
  • Real Name: Satoru Taguchi

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostTue Dec 24, 2024 2:21 am

+1
This feature is useful in various situations, such as managing VFX shots, renaming clips based on marker information, or renaming clips in advance from the API when exporting in Individual Clips mode.
Offline

benrohel

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2025 2:13 pm
  • Real Name: Benjamin Rohel

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostThu Jan 16, 2025 2:15 pm

+1 , This is so Important !!
Offline

JorgeHI

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2025 3:47 pm
  • Real Name: Jorge Hernandez

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostSun Feb 02, 2025 3:50 pm

+1 , Being able to modify the names of the clips in the timeline and in the media pool is an esencial feature for pipeline implementations, vfx and almost any tool related to ingest and deliver material based in clips like individuals.
Offline

Theodor Groeneboom

  • Posts: 388
  • Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostSun Feb 16, 2025 10:25 am

+1

Im building out our VFX conform and breakdown pipeline and have hit the roadblock on not being able to rename clip names on the timeline (clip attributes). The only solution is to manually rename the clips which is unfeasable when we have 650+ shots on our current show.

Please enable write access to the clip`s name attribute.
Offline

mpolis

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2023 7:35 am
  • Location: Hamburg, Germany
  • Real Name: Maris Polis

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostTue May 13, 2025 7:41 am

This is such a small little feature but it could really help everyone out thats involved in VFX Workflows.
The ClipName is already present in the API, please enable us to change it via the API.

Or even better, open it up to the API and implement a function to batch rename Timeline Clips via the UI!
Offline
User avatar

Pavle Milicevic

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:19 pm
  • Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostTue May 13, 2025 8:38 am

mpolis wrote:
Or even better, open it up to the API and implement a function to batch rename Timeline Clips via the UI!


This is even better since then we'll know that everyone has access to the same base workflow.
Offline
User avatar

CUBuffskier

  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:39 pm
  • Location: NYC
  • Real Name: Chadwick Shoults

Re: Need API Call to change Clip Name in Timeline

PostWed May 14, 2025 2:24 am

Bumping. This would save so much manual labor renaming manually. A token system to allow incremental shot naming in the inspector would be great. Maybe based offline timeline index and video layer.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Chadwick Shoults
CreativeVideoTips.com
Finishing Editor & Resolve Trainer

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests