Skip Time / Time-mute

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Skiess

  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:01 pm
  • Real Name: Michiel de Boer

Skip Time / Time-mute

PostMon Nov 16, 2020 1:49 pm

An option to skip 'time disabled' clips (or alternatively in-out points).

This way you could keep shots or sequences in the time line for reference.
Ideal if you need to 'kill darlings' or can't choose between shots, etc..

So in a way you are 'time muting' moments in the timeline.

(The timeline would have to be blank at those points. One could enable 'collapse time mutes'...) :geek: :mrgreen:
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11281
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Skip Time / Time-mute

PostMon Nov 16, 2020 6:58 pm

What is "time disabled"?
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 2168
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Skip Time / Time-mute

PostTue Nov 17, 2020 5:57 am

What is "kill darlings"?
Resolve 16.2.6
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
Decklink Studio 2, FSI LM1770 Monitor
Offline

Skiess

  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:01 pm
  • Real Name: Michiel de Boer

Re: Skip Time / Time-mute

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 8:52 pm

Jim Simon wrote:What is "time disabled"?

Clips that you "time disable" will be skipped when playing. So it just jumps to the next clip.

Another way I could explain is: Deleting clips from the timeline, but keep them visible in the timeline (grayed out obviously).

This prevents the need do cut away shots for previewing and keeps the original edit intact. And makes it easy to add them back at any time, probably even more beneficial.

Peter Cave wrote:What is "kill darlings"?

Removing parts you love for the benefit of the story.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11281
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Skip Time / Time-mute

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 3:56 am

Skiess wrote:it just jumps to the next clip.

I would vote no on that. Disable them or move them to an upper track that's off.

The idea of the playhead 'skipping' around on the timeline during normal playback breaks the paradigm too much.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 2168
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Skip Time / Time-mute

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 1:24 am

Jim Simon wrote:
Skiess wrote:it just jumps to the next clip.

I would vote no on that. Disable them or move them to an upper track that's off.

The idea of the playhead 'skipping' around on the timeline during normal playback breaks the paradigm too much.


+1
Resolve 16.2.6
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
Decklink Studio 2, FSI LM1770 Monitor

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ymagic and 5 guests